← Back to homeAcademic School

Uherské Hradiště, Czech Republic · est. 1993 · Private
Illustration · Uherské Hradiště
Academic School is a private multilingual education complex in Uherské Hradiště: three kindergartens (Mařatice, Kunovice and a hospital kindergarten), a primary school for grades 1-9, a secondary school in Information Technology (since 2022) and a grammar school with extended English (since September 2026). The primary school was founded in 1993 by its head PhDr. Věra Olšáková on the Nordic model; since 2007 it has been a faculty school of the Faculty of Science of Palacký University Olomouc. Teaching follows the Czech curriculum; each year has a standard and a multilingual class where native English speakers teach together with Czech teachers. The school is a partner of Cambridge Park Brno and students take Cambridge English exams at the school. The grammar school and secondary school prepare students for AP (Advanced Placement) exams, including the AP Capstone diploma with CTM, for an extra fee.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $1 709–3 463 a year
3 700–7 500 CZK a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · National programme
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Czech
Languages taught
English, Spanish, German
Class size
at most 20 students per class in the secondary school
About the fees Monthly fees for the 2026-2027 school year: primary school standard class 3700 CZK for the first child (2900 for the second), multilingual class 7400 CZK (6100 for the second); IT secondary school 4000 CZK per month, 10 times a year; grammar school 7500 CZK per month on the same terms. The AP programme is paid separately and its price depends on the subject. The pages reviewed do not state kindergarten fees.
Admissions The school also admits foreigners: the secondary school admission documents include a separate application for applicants under temporary protection. Kindergartens admit children from age 2 up to capacity (multilingual class 17 children, standard class 25). Transfer to the primary school is possible at any time of the year after tests in mathematics, Czech and English. Secondary school and grammar school admission is by the unified entrance exam in Czech and mathematics plus an interview; olympiads and certificates count.
Stages and year groups Kindergartens: children from age two until school; Mařatice has multilingual classes with native English speakers all day. Primary school: 9 grades, each with a standard and a multilingual class; from grade 6 there are 7.5 hours of English a week and the subjects Discussion Club, Science Club, Humanities Club and Author's Writing. Secondary school: a four-year Information Technology programme with the state maturita; mathematics and some specialist subjects in English. The grammar school with extended English opened in September 2026, with some subjects taught in English using CLIL and an optional AP programme. The website shows no Cambridge international programme (Primary, IGCSE), only Cambridge English exams.
Address Studentské náměstí 1531, Mařatice, 686 01 Uherské Hradiště
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as a Cambridge centre. It is a Czech school from nursery to secondary; its website names no Cambridge International programmes, only a partnership with Cambridge for English examinations.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results In the 2024-2025 school year 39 students took Cambridge English exams and all students from the English classes passed; levels ranged from A1 Starters to C1.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: The primary school is on Studentské náměstí and the secondary school in a neighbouring building on Města Mayen Street; IT lessons take place in specialised classrooms of the Faculty of Logistics and Crisis Management of Tomas Bata University next door. Classrooms have interactive touch panels, students have tablets, and there is a library of English literature. Lunch is in a canteen opposite the primary school and in the university canteen. The kindergartens have sports grounds and playgrounds. The secondary school building is barrier-free.
Clubs and activities: Modern Dance · AMAKids - Mentální aritmetika · Přírodovědný badatelský kroužek · Hejbni kostrou · Klub nadaných
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: teachers of various specialisations and native English speakers
In the primary school Czech teachers and native English-speaking teachers work as equal partners and coordinate lessons in both languages every week. The secondary school works with lecturers and experts from Tomas Bata University. The school has a special educator and an educational counsellor.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a special educator and an educational counsellor (výchovný poradce) and has set up an internal whistleblower protection system with a designated officer. The primary school mentions prevention of pathological behaviour.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data73 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country