← Back to homeAl Yasat Private School

Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
Al Yasat Private School is an American school in Al Shamkha in the south-east of Abu Dhabi, running from kindergarten to grade 12, and it describes itself as fully Cognia accredited. The programme is American, with advanced AP courses in the senior years - the school keeps a dedicated room for them and announces the AP examination fee on a page of its own. The campus is built around particular activities rather than general words: an audio studio and a video studio, an AP room, an aeronautics and aviation area, e-sports, a library with a reading room, separate sections for different kinds of books, a stack area and an information desk, sports and athletics, scouts and a school band, a school bus and a healthy eating programme of its own. Clubs run from kindergarten to grade 12 and are described as a journey rather than a timetable: clubs, competitions, performances and community initiatives. The kindergarten runs the K.E.E.P programme and the elementary school the SKY Club, and among the subject activities the school names coding, science, innovation, technology and the environment, digital media, manual arts and carpentry, and nutrition and health sciences.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $9 413–15 077 a year
34 570–55 370 AED
Programmes
AP · American programme
About the fees The annual fee for 2025-26, books included, by stage: kindergarten KG1 and KG2 34,570 dirhams, grades 1 to 3 39,070, grade 4 43,350, grade 5 42,890, grade 6 42,780, grade 7 45,960, grade 8 45,760, grade 9 54,540, grade 10 54,810, grade 11 54,760 and grade 12 55,370. Books are included in that price - the school heads the table "Tuition & Book Fees". The AP examination fee is announced on a separate page and does not form part of this table.
Stages and year groups Grades kindergarten KG1 - grade 12. The stages run straight through: kindergarten, elementary school, middle school and high school ending in grade 12, each described in its own section. The school names neither the grade boundary between middle and high school nor the daily timetable.
Address Sector SH 10, Plot P1, Al Shamkha, P.O. Box 35386
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cognia · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED
The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme
An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →AP
Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.
What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.
American programme
The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.
What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school lists its own facilities: a library with a reading room, separate sections for different kinds of books, a stack area and an information desk; an audio studio and a video studio; an Advanced Placement room; an aeronautics and aviation area; e-sports; sports and athletics; scouts and a school band; a school bus; and a healthy eating programme.
Clubs and activities (10): Programming · Science, innovation, technology and ecology · Digital media · Handicraft and carpentry · Nutrition and health sciences · K.E.E.P - kindergarten programme · SKY Club - primary school club · Scouts · School orchestra · Esports
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)75 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country