Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

American School of Dubai

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · est. 1966 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
69.4#128 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The American School of Dubai was founded in 1966 - before the United Arab Emirates itself existed - and is one of the oldest international schools in the city. It began with eleven pupils and two teachers in an apartment in Deira, opened by the oil company Dubai Petroleum for the children of its American staff; today it has more than two thousand pupils on its campus in Al Barsha 1. The curriculum is American, from PreK to Grade 12, with a high school diploma: graduation runs on credits from required subjects and a wide range of electives, and on top of them the school offers Advanced Placement courses with College Board examinations. In the early years the school works to the Reggio Emilia approach with learning through play: the early learning centre is a separate building for PreK, K1 and K2. The school is not run for profit: it says plainly that all of the fee goes into education, and explains by this its ability to think about quality rather than profit. The campus is large and well equipped: more than a hundred classrooms, two libraries, a theatre, a design and innovation centre for community benefit, an athletics arena, two pool complexes, tennis courts, a running track and competition fields, three primary school playgrounds, a sustainability garden, a bee garden, two canteens and science laboratories. Sport runs in seasons and the teams play in the regional MESAC conference against schools in the UAE, Qatar, Oman and India: dance, golf, swimming and volleyball in the first season, basketball, cross country, cheerleading, football, tennis and wrestling in the second, badminton, baseball, softball and athletics in the third; each sport has middle school, junior varsity and varsity levels. The main thing a parent needs to know: the fee is high - from 60,571 dirhams in PreK to 89,319 in Grades 1 to 12 - and on top of it a yearly campus maintenance charge of 12,984 dirhams is taken from KG2 onwards.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $16 493–24 321 a year
60 571–89 319 AED
Programmes
AP · American programme
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
School website
Students
more than 2,000
About the fees The fee for the 2026/2027 academic year: PreK is 60,571 dirhams, K1 is 64,092, K2 is 69,961, and grades 1 to 12 pay 89,319. On top of the fee, from KG2 to grade 12 a yearly campus upkeep charge of 12,984 dirhams is taken; only holders of corporate places are free of it. For pupils with special educational needs who require the life skills programme a further 51,300 dirhams a year is set. The school converts the sums into dollars at a rate of 3.672. To hold a place a non-returnable payment is made, and it is set against the total fee; payment can be made by transfer or by instalments under the school's plans, while corporate payers pay by transfer.
Admissions The grade is set strictly by age: PreK, K1, K2 and grade 1 take children who have turned three, four, five and six respectively by 31 December of the year of enrolment. From grade 2 to grade 12 placement is decided case by case. Securing a seat requires a non-refundable reservation which is credited towards the fee.
Stages and year groups Grades PreK - grade 12. There are four stages: the Early Learning Center PreK to K2, then elementary, middle and high school. The early years follow a Reggio Emilia-inspired play-based approach in a building of their own. Graduation from the high school rests on accumulated credits from required subjects and electives, with Advanced Placement courses on top.
Address Al Barsha 1

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

CIS · membershipMSA · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programme
The school names accreditation by the Middle States Association and, alongside it, memberships of NESA and the Association for the Advancement of International Education - industry bodies rather than inspections of the school, and they clear no threshold.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
MSAMiddle States Association of Colleges and Schools

One of the oldest American accreditations, working since 1887 in more than a hundred countries and linked to the Office of Overseas Schools of the US State Department. It judges the school as an institution across twelve areas, including finances, governance, premises and student support.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: A campus in Al Barsha 1 in the middle of Dubai: more than a hundred classrooms, two libraries - one for the elementary school and one for the middle and high school - a theatre, separate elementary, middle and high school buildings and an Early Learning Center, the Center for Design and Innovation for Public Purpose, a field house, two aquatics centres (for the middle and high school and for the elementary school), tennis courts, a running track and competition fields, elementary playgrounds and an Early Learning Center playground, a sustainable garden and a bee garden, two cafeterias and science laboratories.
Clubs and activities: Dance · Golf · Swimming · Volleyball · Basketball · Cross-country · Cheerleading · Football · Tennis · Wrestling · Badminton · Baseball · Softball · Athletics
Source: asdubai.org

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
75
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
56
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Dubai CollegeDubai · 69.4ADNOC Schools - GhayathiGhayathi · 69.4Ambassador International AcademyDubai · 69.5Al Nahda National SchoolsAbu Dhabi · 69.3