← Back to homeAnavryta Model Lyceum

Marousi, Greece · est. 1950 · State
Illustration · Marousi
Anavryta Model Lyceum in Marousi, north Athens, is a public upper secondary school (grades A, B and C) with one of the longest histories among Greek model schools. It traces its history to the National School of Anavryta (Εθνικό Εκπαιδευτήριο Αναβρύτων), founded by law in 1950 as a private school; it joined the public system in 1975, was an experimental lyceum from 1985, a model experimental lyceum from 2011 and a model lyceum from 2015. The building stands in the Syngrou estate next to KAT station. According to the Ministry (IEP), IB Diploma Programme classes run at the school for grades B and C from the 2026-2027 school year; the available copies of the school's website have no IB page. Language of instruction: the Greek programme is taught in Greek (the whole website, timetables, rules and notices are in Greek), the IB class in English according to the Ministry. The school teaches English, French and German and has Latin materials on its website. It takes part in the European Parliament Ambassador School programme and the UNESCO Associated Schools network.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Greek, English
Languages taught
French, German, Latin
About the fees The school is public; it does not state any tuition on its pages, including for the IB class.
Admissions As a model school, it selects students by entrance examinations; its exam report states "Οι μαθητές του Προτύπου Λυκείου Αναβρύτων επιλέγονται με εξετάσεις" (the students of the Anavryta Model Lyceum are selected by examinations). Applications are filed on the Ministry platform, and the number of places for each school is set by a decision of the administrative committee of model and experimental schools (ΔΕΠΠΣ). The available copies of the school's website say nothing on how students enter the IB class.
Stages and year groups Greek general lyceum with three grades (A, B, C), the Apolytirio school-leaving certificate and the Panhellenic exams. According to the Ministry (IEP), IB Diploma Programme classes in English for grades B and C open at the school from the 2026-2027 school year; in the 2025-2026 school year the school was an IB candidate; the Ministry treats the IB Diploma as equivalent to the Greek Apolytirio. The available copies of the school's website have no page on the IB class, its subjects or admission.
Address Leoforos Kifisias 184, Marousi, 14562 Attica
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school. It is a state school: the IB Diploma class is taught in English in the last two years of the lyceum alongside the Greek curriculum; the ministry treats the IB Diploma as equivalent to the Greek school-leaving certificate.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school's website is closed to automated reading.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
✓Number of teachers35
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: 10 teachers with doctorates, many with master's degrees (staff list 2024-2025).
The staff list for the 2024-2025 school year names 35 teachers: theologians, philologists, mathematicians, physicists, chemists, biologists, teachers of French, English and German, an economist, a sociologist, PE and computing teachers; besides them, a nurse and a psychologist. 10 teachers hold doctorates and many hold master's degrees. The school does not give class sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school staff includes a nurse and a psychologist. The 2024-2025 school-life framework covers students' physical and emotional safety, a ban on violence, prevention of violence and school bullying ("Πρόληψη φαινομένων Βίας και Σχολικού εκφοβισμού") together with a psychologist and other specialists, and an evacuation plan with regular drills.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median73 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country