Home · Spain · Calvià
← Back to home

Baleares International College

Spain Calvià, Spain · Private
Illustration · Calvià
73.9#107 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Baleares International College is two schools under one name on Mallorca, and the school explains the choice between them by the child's age and where the family lives. Sa Porrassa in Calvia takes children from 5 to 18 and runs right through to A-Levels: an indoor sports centre, playing fields, a swimming pool, all-weather basketball, football and volleyball courts, an ICT suite and science laboratories, art, drama and music rooms, and air-conditioned classrooms. Sant Agusti in Palma is the only primary-only international school on the island, from 3 to 11, on a villa-style campus: an art studio, a music room, a soft play area, a dining room looking out to sea, two language classrooms and outdoor classrooms, with swimming at the local sports centre. There are plenty of languages: Spanish, Catalan from Year 2, French and German from Year 3. More than forty nationalities are represented, and 84 per cent of A-Level grades are A* to C. The school refreshes its clubs every year - from sailing and jiu jitsu to robotics and a debating club.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
School website
About the fees The school does not publish stage amounts in the text of its fees page - only the structure and the charges. Once a place is accepted, a non-refundable registration fee of 500 EUR and a refundable deposit of 600 EUR are payable; the deposit is refunded when the child leaves, provided two months' notice is given. Tuition is divided into three terms and may be paid termly or in full for the year by 1 August with a three per cent discount. The fee includes teaching materials, prescribed textbooks and everyday learning resources; optional educational trips are charged separately at cost, and external examinations for senior students - IGCSE, AS and A-Levels - are invoiced separately at the examination boards' charges.
Admissions Admission runs in four steps: an enquiry or a tour booking through the form on the site, a visit to the school to see the classrooms and meet teachers, an application through the admissions portal - a separate one for each child, with the latest school reports - and a formal offer of a place through the same portal; the family signs the terms and pays the enrolment fee and the transcript fee. The school notes that it may ask for an entry test or an interview. The stages by age: primary 5-11, secondary 11-16, Sixth Form 16-18, and at Sant Agusti from 3 to 11. Children of 45 nationalities study at the school, and for families moving to Mallorca it has a separate page about relocating; the school names no application deadlines and no required level of English.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery (from age 3) - Year 13. Sa Porrassa runs from 5 to 18 right through to Sixth Form; Sant Agusti is primary only, from 3 to 11. The school day at Sa Porrassa runs 8:45 to 15:50 in primary and 8:45 to 16:00 in secondary.
Address Ctra. Cala Figuera 3A, Sa Porrassa

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeBSO · accreditation
Certificate valid through August 2028 · BSO
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

A* and A at IGCSE
82%
Exam results At IGCSE in summer 2025, 38 per cent of grades were 9-7 (A*/A) and 82 per cent 9-4 (A*-C), against world averages of 21.7 and 67.6 per cent; English, mathematics, science and Spanish were passed by everyone, in Spanish 87 per cent of grades were 9-7, in French all were 9-7. At A-Level in 2025 more than a quarter of grades were A* or A and 88 per cent A* to C, against a world average of 77.9 per cent.
Where leavers go: Universidad Alfonso X el Sabio (Madrid) · Universidad Europea (Madrid) · Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Barcelona) · TU Delft · University of Amsterdam · King's College London · City University London · University of Leeds · University of Southampton
Beyond this list the school writes that the class of 2025 went to universities in Paris, Groningen, Madrid, Manchester, Sheffield and London - for law, psychology, art, biomedical engineering, drama, film and communications.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Campus: Sa Porrassa: an indoor sports centre, playing fields with sports pitches, a swimming pool, all-weather basketball, football and volleyball courts, an ICT suite and science laboratories, art, drama and music rooms and outdoor areas; classrooms air-conditioned for the summer and heated for the winter.
Clubs and activities (14): Sailing · Football · Athletics · Volleyball · Tennis · Basketball · Jiu-jitsu · Drama · Ballet · Ballroom dancing · Music · Chess · Robotics · Debating club

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school presents its teachers on the Sa Porrassa team page: the principal Alison Colwell, the head of primary Adam Fairless, the head of secondary Philip Brown, the head of Sixth Form and science teacher Claire Turley, their deputies and subject teachers. The principal calls the teachers well qualified and writes that there is no better teaching on the island. The school does not publish the number of teachers, their qualifications or the pupil-teacher ratio.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
59
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Cumbres SchoolMoncada · 73.9Base International SchoolAlcobendas · 73.9Colegio HeidelbergLas Palmas de Gran Canaria · 73.9IES Fernando de HerreraSevilla · 73.8