Ranking · Sweden · Malmo
← Back to the ranking

Bladins International School of Malmö

Sweden Malmo, Sweden · est. 1987 · Private
Illustration · Malmo
74.2#15 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Bladins International School of Malmö (BISM) is the international school of the Bladins Skola foundation, one of the oldest private schools in Sweden (founded in 1880). The international section opened in 1987, when the region needed a school for the children of Australian specialists building submarines at the Kockums shipyard. Today it is an authorised IB school with the Primary Years (PYP, ages 6-11) and Middle Years (MYP, ages 11-16) programmes: from the preschool class to year 9 of Swedish compulsory school. The main language of instruction is English; middle school students learn at least two languages, with a choice of French or Spanish. Students come from about 50 countries. The foundation also runs the bilingual Bladins Preschool on the Swedish curriculum with an English profile, preparing children for the school's English-speaking classrooms. The school charges fees: for families registered in Sweden the fee is subsidised. The 2026 graduates achieved an average merit score of 290, which the school calls one of the best results in Sweden.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $3 255–3 470 a year
3 265–3 480 SEK a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP
Admits from
1 year · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
French, Spanish
School website
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 school year for children who have the right to reside in Sweden and are registered with the authorities (subsidised fee): PYP1-PYP5 (preschool class to year 4) 16325 SEK per term or 3265 SEK per month for the 10 months of the school year; MYP1-MYP5 (years 5-9) 17400 SEK per term or 3480 SEK per month. Fees cover 10 months, August to May. Those not registered in Sweden pay the gross fee, which the school gives on request. After-school care follows the municipal maximum rate (maxtaxa) based on household income.
Admissions Under the Swedish law on international schools (chapter 24 of the Education Act) BISM can admit a child who belongs to at least one category: living in Sweden for a short period; having studied abroad for a long period and completing education in Sweden; expected to leave Sweden for a long period; speaking English, the school's language of instruction, daily with one or both guardians with enough knowledge to follow teaching. Swedish families may apply if the child meets these conditions. Admission is rolling, online; the school considers all eligible children regardless of nationality, ethnicity, gender or religion. Year level is based on year of birth, adjusted for previous education. Places are limited, so early application is advised; the preschool does not guarantee a school place and a separate application is needed, though siblings may get priority. For year 9 (MYP5) only a functional level of English is required. The preschool admits children from age 1 by waiting list.
Stages and year groups The structure and admissions follow the Swedish compulsory grundskola: PYP1 corresponds to the förskoleklass preschool class, PYP5 to year 4, MYP1-MYP5 to years 5-9. Primary is the IB Primary Years Programme (ages 6-11), middle school the IB Middle Years Programme (ages 11-16) in eight subject groups, with the personal project in MYP5; year 9 MYP5 was added from the 2024-2025 school year and includes elements of Theory of Knowledge. Foreign languages are French or Spanish by level. Progress is tracked with the international MAP Growth test in autumn and spring. After year 9 graduates go on to Swedish upper secondary schools, the IB Diploma (for example at Borgarskolan) or other programmes. Bladins Preschool follows the Swedish preschool curriculum Lpfö 18, mostly in Swedish, with an English profile.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP · authorised programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Primary Years and Middle Years programmes.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The 2026 year 9 cohort achieved an average merit score (meritvärde) of 290; the school calls it one of the highest results in Sweden. Since 2022 the school has run the international MAP Growth diagnostic test in reading, language usage and mathematics twice a year.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Drama club · Lego robotics club · Film club · Homework club · School band · School choir · The Iris Book Award · Outdoor Education Program · Nordic Network Sports Tournaments · Student council
Source: bladins.se

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The student welfare team: inclusive education teachers, school nurse, school counsellor, guidance counsellor, school psychologist, programme coordinators, principals and head of school. The school has a code of conduct and a drugs, alcohol and smoking policy; camera surveillance serves safety and protection against vandalism and intruders.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
90
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Katedralskolan UppsalaUppsala · 74.3S:t Eskils gymnasiumEskilstuna · 74Hvitfeldtska gymnasietGothenburg · 73.9Internationella Engelska Skolan BoråsBoras · 74.6