Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Brighton College Dubai

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
67.4#178 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Brighton College Dubai is the third Emirati school of the Brighton College family and the dearest of them: from 67,384 dirhams at the Foundation Stage to 111,062 in Year 13. It stands in Al Barsha South, between Hessa Street and Umm Suqeim Street. The school calls its programme by its own name - the Brighton College Curriculum - and it is the National Curriculum of England and Wales, leading to International GCSEs and A levels. What the school leans on most is the sheer volume of life beyond lessons: more than two hundred clubs and activities a week, each run by a professional in their field, from ballet and drama to coding, karate, choir and astrophysics, and a pupil may start a club of their own if what they want is not on the list. Separately the school runs the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award at all three levels, with expeditions across the deserts and mountains of the Emirates, and courses from the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art - LAMDA - which train speech and confidence in public performance. Arabic creative writing sits on the club list alongside chess and debating.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $18 348–30 242 a year
67 384–111 062 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
About the fees The annual fee for 2026-2027 rises by stage: 67,384 dirhams for FS1, 69,845 for FS2, 74,445 for Year 1, 78,780 for Year 2, 79,195 for Years 3 and 4, 79,485 for Years 5 and 6, 90,170 for Year 7, 96,222 for Year 8, 97,943 for Year 9, 100,376 for Year 10, 107,858 for Years 11 and 12 and 111,062 for Year 13. It is paid in three parts - 40 per cent in the first term and 30 per cent in each of the second and third.
Admissions Admission runs through the admissions team: an online application, an enquiry form, a call back, a virtual meeting, a school tour and open mornings. Separate pages set out the admissions process, term dates and frequently asked questions.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 - Year 13. The stages run straight through: Early Years is FS1 and FS2, Prep the primary school, Senior the secondary, and Sixth Form Years 12 and 13. The leaving qualifications are International GCSEs and A levels.
Address Al Barsha South, between Hessa Street and Umm Suqeim Street

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeCOBIS · membershipBSO · accreditationBSME · part of the association
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A campus in Al Barsha South, between Hessa Street and Umm Suqeim Street. The school names no individual facilities, but it does speak of giving equal weight to sport, music and the performing arts.
Clubs and activities (200): Photography · Drama · Netball · Football · Golf · Science club · Running · Choir · Swimming · Fitness · Basketball · Chess · Creative writing in Arabic · Debating · Athletics · Duke of Edinburgh's International Award · LAMDA courses

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
Each of the more than two hundred clubs is, in the school's words, run by a professional passionate about their field. The school publishes no number of teachers, no qualifications, no pupil-teacher ratio and no class size.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
51
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Al Adhwa Private SchoolAl Ain · 67.4Lycée Libanais Francophone Privé MeydanDubai · 67.5German International School Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 67.5Al Maaref American SchoolDubai · 67.5