← Back to homeThe British School of Málaga

Malaga, Spain · Private
Illustration · Malaga
The British School of Málaga is a private all-through British school in the Cerrado de Calderón residential neighbourhood in the east of Málaga, by the sea, fifteen minutes from the centre. It belongs to the International Schools Partnership network and calls itself the only British all-through school in the area; it speaks of its experience as 25 years. It takes children from three to eighteen and teaches them on the British national curriculum, adding Spanish language and Spanish subjects so that pupils obtain a double qualification: IGCSE and the Spanish ESO, then A-Level and the Spanish bachillerato with the Spanish university access examinations. English is the main language of lessons and communication from age three; the British curriculum is taught by native English teachers with British qualifications and the Spanish subjects by Spanish teachers; from secondary French or German is added. Pupils come from more than 50 nationalities speaking more than 25 languages, and for those who need English there is an English as an Additional Language department. The campus is four buildings, one for each stage, with an indoor sports hall, an outdoor swimming pool, four padel courts, four science laboratories and dining rooms. Seven bus routes cover Málaga and the coast from Benalmádena to Nerja. The school publishes its fees itself, in euros; in summer an English-language summer school runs for children from any school.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $9 919–13 613 a year
8 780–12 050 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Spanish, French, German
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
About the fees The school publishes its fees itself, in a table for the 2026-2027 school year, in euros per year: Nursery and Reception 8780 euros, Year 1-2: 9530, Year 3-4: 9780, Year 5-6: 9980, Year 7-8: 10680, Year 9: 10850, Year 10-11: 11650, Year 12-13: 12050 euros. Payment can be made once at the start of the year or in ten monthly instalments. Paid separately are English support, the bus, uniform, trips, after-school clubs, the breakfast and snack clubs, a Chromebook, external examinations and individual music lessons.
Admissions The school admits all year round, at the start of each term, though most pupils begin in September. Admission runs in five steps: contact, a tour of the school or an online meeting, a taster day in a class of the child's age or an online interview with previous school reports requested, a written offer of a place that must be accepted within 10 days with payment of the registration fee, and enrolment. The school writes that its pupils come from more than 50 nationalities speaking more than 25 languages; on entry everyone takes an English test, and those who need support study in the English as an Additional Language department individually or in small groups.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery (3 years) - Year 13 (18 years). The early years stage is Nursery and Reception from 3 to 5 on the British EYFS programme in a separate two-storey building with full English immersion. Primary is Year 1-6, from 5 to 11, on the British programme with Spanish language and Spanish subjects. Secondary is Key Stage 3 (Year 7-9) and Key Stage 4 (Year 10-11) with preparation for IGCSE and at the same time for the Spanish ESO in Spanish language and literature, history and geography; pupils are grouped by ability. The sixth form is Year 12-13, from 16 to 18: A-Level and, for those going to Spanish universities, the Spanish bachillerato and access examinations. The school day is broadly from 9:00 to 16:00, with staggered entry and exit by stage.
Address Calle Centaurea 8, Cerrado de Calderón, 29018 Málaga
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Pearson · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeInternational Schools Partnership · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board
It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.
What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →International Schools Partnershipschool network
A group of private international schools, founded in 2013 by five leaders from international education. The numbers diverge: the home page gives 121 schools in 26 countries and "132,000+" pupils, the "About us" page - 106 schools in 25 countries, the "Who and where we are" page - 121 schools in more than 26 markets and 118,000 pupils. The site writes that schools keep their own character, brand and curriculum when they join ISP, but does not say whether ISP buys the schools, manages them under contract or brings them together by membership.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The school publishes A-Level results without stating the year: 97 percent of grades from A* to E against a UK average of 97 percent, 36 percent of top grades A* and A against 29 percent, and 76 percent of grades from A* to C against 78 percent. The best score in the Spanish PAU access examination is 13.36 out of 14. At IGCSE, the school says, almost 90 percent of pupils obtain grades from A* to C.
Where leavers go: IE University · Universidad Complutense de Madrid · Universidad Autónoma de Madrid · Universidad Politécnica de Madrid · Universidad Pontificia Comillas · Universidad de Navarra · Universidad de Granada · Universidad de Málaga · Imperial College London · University of St Andrews · University of Glasgow · University of Manchester
and others, 20 universities in the school's list in allThe school publishes a list of universities its graduates have entered: in Spain IE University, Universidad Complutense, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Politécnica de Madrid, Universidad Pontificia Comillas, Universidad de Navarra, Universidad de Granada, Universidad de Málaga and others; in the UK Imperial College London, University of St Andrews, University of Glasgow, University of Manchester, University of Liverpool, University of Sheffield and others; in the Netherlands Delft University of Technology, University of Amsterdam, Erasmus University Rotterdam; and also Trinity College Dublin, University College Cork and Charles University in Prague.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: The campus in the Cerrado de Calderón neighbourhood is four buildings, one for each stage. A two-storey building for the youngest children with nap rooms, terraces, its own dining room and a large play area among trees; a four-storey primary building opened in 2024 with a multi-purpose sports hall with retractable seating and a new grass playground; a secondary building with rooms for music and radio, computer science, science, art and media, the main reception and the dining room; and a sixth form building with its own classrooms and a lounge with a terrace. There is an outdoor swimming pool, multi-sports courts for football and tennis, a basketball court, four glass padel courts, ICT rooms and four science laboratories. Seven bus routes: Málaga, Benalmádena, Nerja, Añoreta, Alhaurín, west Málaga and a local line after 17:00.
Clubs and activities: ISP Changemakers · ISP Cultural Exchange · ISP Virtual Exchange · ISP Model United Nations · ISP Filmmakers · European Youth Parliament · Athletics · Drawing and handicrafts · Ballet · Basketball · Chess · Flamenco · Football · Funky · Judo · Padel · Self-defence · Rhythmic gymnastics · Skateboarding · Video game development · Volleyball · Gardening · Recorder · Choir · Knitting · Debating · Maths clinic · Language clubs · Book club · Songwriting · Futsal · Dungeons & Dragons · Student Voice · School houses
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
An English-language summer school for children aged 5 to 12 from any school runs on campus from 6 to 31 July, from 9:00 to 15:00, with breakfast from 8:00 on demand. Children are grouped by age into Starters, Juniors and Seniors, no minimum level of English is required, and lessons are taught by British teachers. The programme includes English lessons, football, basketball, padel, daily swimming with lifeguards, lunch and four trips. The cost is 725 euros, the bus 185 euros, with a 5 percent discount for the second and further children; enrolment until 30 June. There is no away camp.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The British curriculum, the school says, is taught by native English teachers with British teaching qualifications, and Spanish language, Spanish subjects and bachillerato subjects by Spanish teachers. There is an English as an Additional Language department and a department for additional learning needs. The principal is Stefan Rumistrzewicz, who has led the school since April 2021 and previously led the British School of Murcia; the head of secondary is Nadia Parra, and the head of pastoral care and designated safeguarding lead is Janet Legler. The school does not publish the number of teachers or class sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access control
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school calls safeguarding everyone's responsibility: all staff undergo vetting and a criminal background check, there is a safeguarding team and a published policy. All staff are trained in safeguarding and online safety, a nurse is on duty all day, there is an anti-bullying programme, an additional learning needs department, a wellbeing programme, compulsory registration of all visitors, and children from Early Years to Year 3 are handed over only to authorised adults. Every bus carries a monitor. Mobile phones and smartwatches are banned at school.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data85 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country