Ranking · Romania · Bucharest
← Back to the ranking

Bucharest-Beirut International School

Romania Bucharest, Romania · est. 2003 · Private
Illustration · Bucharest
71.3#29 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Bucharest-Beirut International School (BBIS) is a private, fee-paying international school in Sector 2 of Bucharest for children aged 2 to 18. It was founded in 2003, is authorised by the Romanian and Lebanese Ministries of Education, and describes itself as a Lebanese international school. It has offered the IB Diploma Programme since 2017, the Primary Years Programme since 2021 and the Middle Years Programme since 2024, and is a candidate school for the Career-related Programme. The language of instruction is English, as the school states directly; all students learn Romanian as the host country language, Arabic is offered at all levels as part of the school's Lebanese identity, and French, Chinese and Turkish are options. On its home page the school says it has students of 21-30 nationalities and 17 classes. Lessons run Monday to Thursday from about 8:15 to 15:15 and on Friday until 13:00; older grades stay until 16:00 on weekdays.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $7 230–10 168 a year
6 400–9 000 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Romanian, French, Chinese, Turkish, German
School website
Class size
at most 15 children in kindergarten groups, 20 students in Grades 1-5, 22 in Grades 6-10 and 15 in Grades 11-12 pupils
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027: Pre-Nursery, Nursery and KG1 6400 euro, KG2 6900 euro, Grades 1-5 7900 euro, Grades 6-9 8700 euro, Grades 10-12 9000 euro per year. Discount for paying the full fee before 30 June 2026: 10% for kindergarten and Grades 1-9, 5% for Grades 10-12.
Admissions The school admits both local and international students and states directly that entry is open to anyone from around the world; knowing Romanian is not required. Families with siblings already at the school have priority. Age is counted on 31 December of the year of entry: 2 for Pre-Nursery, 3 for Nursery, 4 for KG1, 5 for KG2, 6 for Grade 1 (at least one year of kindergarten is required). Applicants to Grades 2-10 take entrance tests in English, Mathematics and an additional language, with a minimum of 4 out of 7 in each; previous school reports and a recommendation from the previous school are reviewed. Students with limited English are enrolled with language support, available up to Grade 7; there is no support from Grade 8. Children with no English attend an intensive one-year course of 4-5 hours a day. New students for the Diploma and Career-related programmes are admitted on records, recommendations, placement tasks and an interview, with minimum grades in chosen subjects and English sufficient for the programme.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-Nursery, Nursery, KG1, KG2, Grade 1-12. Kindergarten: Pre-Nursery (age 2), Nursery, KG1, KG2. The IB Primary Years Programme covers kindergarten and Grades 1-5; the IB Middle Years Programme covers Grades 6-10, with MYP eAssessment in Grade 10; in Grades 11-12 students choose the IB Diploma Programme or the IB Career-related Programme (business and entrepreneurship, sport management pathways), decided at the end of Grade 10. The school calls itself an IB continuum school and is authorised by the Romanian and Lebanese Ministries of Education; the Romanian bacalaureat and a separate Lebanese programme are not described on the website. The home page lists 17 classes.
Address Strada Vergului 14, Sector 2, București

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programme
The IB register lists the Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma programmes at the school; it is a candidate for the Career-related Programme. The school also describes itself as a Lebanese international school authorised by the Romanian and Lebanese education ministries.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities

The school does not describe its premises on its website.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: Bachelor, Master and Doctorate degrees; new teachers need at least 2 years of experience and advanced English, IB workshops are an advantage
The school says its teachers hold internationally recognised Bachelor, Master and Doctorate degrees, and it runs regular workshops and training for them. The home page presents 37 teachers and leaders by department: sciences, mathematics, languages and literature, art and music, physical education, individuals and societies, homeroom teachers and leadership. Language teachers are native speakers. Vacancies for 2026-2027 require at least 2 years of experience and advanced English.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a medical cabinet with a full-time nurse, and a paediatrician visits once a week. The safeguarding policy is based on Romanian Law 272/2004 and includes an anti-bullying section; staff are trained regularly to recognise signs of abuse, and all concerns are reported to the Designated Safeguarding Lead. The school counsellor offers confidential support to students and families. Fire evacuation and lockdown drills are held regularly.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
76
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Liceul Teoretic Little LondonVoluntari · 71.1Knowledge Tree International SchoolBrasov · 71.6Seven Hills International SchoolIasi · 70.8Liceul Maarif International School of BucharestVoluntari · 72.1