Ranking · Romania · Bucharest
← Back to the ranking

Bucharest Christian Academy

Romania Bucharest, Romania · est. 1993 · Private
Illustration · Bucharest
67.9#37 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Bucharest Christian Academy (BCA) is a private Christian American international school in Sector 3 of Bucharest for children from PreK to grade 12. The school has served families in Romania since 1993 (the home page says 1996) and teaches missionary, expatriate and Romanian families. The curriculum is fully American, following AERO standards close to the US Common Core, college-preparatory with honors courses; high school students take AP classes, and the school also offers AP exams to outside candidates. Instruction is in English and Romanian is taught as a subject; there is a support programme for non-native English speakers. The school is built on a biblical worldview: daily class devotions, weekly chapel and Bible classes. The school reports ACSI and Middle States Association (MSA) accreditation and uses MAP testing to track progress and ease transfers to North American schools. Many students are third-culture kids growing up outside their passport country; the school supports them on arrival and on returning home for university.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
AP · American programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Romanian, Spanish, French
School website
Registration fee
≈ $791
700 EUR
About the fees The school does not state tuition on its site: it is provided on request through a form. The school offers discounts, payment plans and financial aid to families whose employer does not cover tuition, and additional discounts to families working with missionary organisations.
Admissions The school enrolls students without regard to color, race, religion or creed if they speak English as a native language or qualify for the English Language Learners programme (ELL, grades 1 to 12, limited places). Application: a form with contact details, identification and medical records, then copies of passport or ID, transcripts, references and English exam results where required; all documents by email. Non-native English speakers are assessed in reading, writing and speaking. The director may refuse admission considering age, previous schooling, special needs, behaviour or unpaid fees. After acceptance a 700 euro fee is paid. Age by 15 September: PreK 3 (the Early Learners page says 4 by 30 August), Kindergarten 5, grade 1 6.
Stages and year groups Grades PreK, K, 1-12. Early Learners: PreK and Kindergarten, taught in English, with staff supporting in Romanian when needed. Elementary: grades 1-6. Secondary: grades 7-12, college preparation, honors courses and AP classes; the school is an AP exam centre, including for outside candidates. The curriculum follows American AERO standards.
Address Aleea Mizil 62B, Sector 3, București

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

ACSI · accreditationMSA · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programme
The school is jointly accredited by ACSI and MSA (Middle States Association). The College Board AP Course Ledger lists it for the 2025-2026 school year.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

ACSIAssociation of Christian Schools International

An accreditation of Christian schools: the school spends eighteen months to two years on a self-study, and then peers from other Christian schools visit. Faithfulness to the Christian confession is part of the standards, so this is an accreditation with a condition of belief. It often runs jointly with MSA or Cognia, and such a pair is stronger than ACSI alone.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
MSAMiddle States Association of Colleges and Schools

One of the oldest American accreditations, working since 1887 in more than a hundred countries and linked to the Office of Overseas Schools of the US State Department. It judges the school as an institution across twelve areas, including finances, governance, premises and student support.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities

The school does not describe its premises on its website.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers16
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The staff page lists 16 teachers and a teacher's aide, some teaching in both elementary and secondary: English, Spanish, French, Romanian, Bible, history and geography, science and mathematics, PE, music, art, drama and business. The school looks for Christian teachers eager to serve the international community of Bucharest; candidates complete the school's application form.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Every student has a trusted adult: school counselors, mentors and small advisory groups; new families get help settling in and English language support. The site does not describe child protection, security or medical service policies.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
75
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
67
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
64
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Researchers SchoolhouseCluj Napoca · 67.8Inspira International SchoolCraiova · 68.1Școala Gimnazială AnimaSibiu · 67Pick Me AcademyBucharest · 66.8