Ranking · Hungary · Budapest
← Back to the ranking

Budapest British International Academy

Hungary Budapest, Hungary · est. 2015 · Private
Illustration · Budapest
76.7#7 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Budapest British International Academy (BBIA) is a private, fee-paying British day school in District III of Budapest, from kindergarten to the final year of school. It is family-run: in 2008 the family opened the Kids Kiosk kindergarten in District II, in 2013 a second one, and in 2015 founded a British primary school on Berkenye utca. In 2021 a separate secondary building opened, in September 2024 the school moved to a new campus on Árpád fejedelem útja, and in 2025 the kindergarten moved there too. Teaching follows the English National Curriculum: the Early Years Foundation Stage in kindergarten, Primary Year 1-6, Secondary Year 7-11 with Pearson Edexcel International GCSE examinations and the Sixth Form Year 12-13 with Pearson Edexcel International A Levels. English is the main language of instruction, as the school states directly; Hungarian is taught three times a week to native speakers and beginners. Students come from more than 56 nationalities. The school is a certified Pearson Edexcel examination centre, and its students have received Pearson awards for the top grades in Hungary two years in a row. The school also has a branch in Belgrade.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $12 992–22 595 a year
11 500–20 000 EUR
Programmes
Pearson Edexcel · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Spanish, German, Hungarian
School website
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027 paid in three instalments (15 August, 1 December, 1 March), euro per year: kindergarten 11500, Year 1-2 16000, Year 3-6 17000, Year 7-9 18500, Year 10-11 19500, Year 12-13 20000. Paying the full year by 15 August 2026 costs less: kindergarten 10500, Year 1-2 15000, Year 3-6 16000, Year 7-9 17500, Year 10-11 19000, Year 12-13 19500 euro. Fees are set in euro and may be paid in EUR, HUF, USD or GBP. Sibling discount: 5% for the second child and 10% for the third. Fees include lunch, extra English hours and activities during the school day; not included are IGCSE and A-level exam fees, a laptop for Year 5-13, trips, after-school clubs, textbooks and individualised in-class support.
Admissions The school accepts applications throughout the year with no fixed deadlines. Families first meet the Admissions Officer and tour the campus, also online; the child can spend a free Trial Week in normal lessons with lunch. One application form per child is submitted with a copy of the passport and visa (if applicable), the most recent school reports and the vaccination booklet, by post or email. The school reviews each application and may ask for a follow-up discussion or an entrance test to decide placement. The school exists primarily for children who need an education in English; admission considers English proficiency and the capacity of the English as an Additional Language department. Placement is by age and academic background. Students come from more than 56 nationalities.
Stages and year groups Grades Early Years 1-2, Year 1-13. Kindergarten (Early Years 1-2, from age 3) following the Early Years Foundation Stage; Primary Year 1-6 following the English National Curriculum; Secondary Year 7-11 with Pearson Edexcel International GCSEs in Year 10-11 (mathematics, sciences, English, business, economics, geography, history, German, Spanish, art, computer science, Global Citizenship); Sixth Form Year 12-13 following Pearson Edexcel International A Levels, usually three or four subjects. The school does not offer the IB or the Hungarian programme.
Address Árpád fejedelem útja 79, 1036 Budapest

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Pearson · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeCOBIS · membership
The Pearson register names the school as its centre: it teaches Pearson Edexcel International GCSE and International A Level courses and hosts the exams. It is a member of COBIS.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The school's students received Pearson awards for top grades two years in a row: in 2024 the highest grades in the country and in Europe in Mathematics A and Biology, in 2025 the highest grades in Hungary in Mathematics A and English. The website also gives general indicators without explaining how they are calculated: 100% university placement, 86% average exam score and 95% graduating on time.
Where leavers go: King's College London · University of Warwick · University College London (UCL) · Maastricht University · Utrecht University · Semmelweis University · Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: Football · Cooking · Model UN · Creative writing · Chess · Karate · World Scholar's Cup

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
✓Security staff
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The website publishes policies on safeguarding and child protection, anti-bullying, counselling, pastoral care and new student support, first aid and health and safety. The safeguarding policy names designated leads and deputies for kindergarten, primary and secondary and lists district child protection services. The school's staff include security guards; medication is given to children only as Hungarian law allows, and staff are trained in paediatric first aid.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
65
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Britannica International School, BudapestBudapest · 76.9Budapest British International SchoolBudapest · 77Lycée français Gustave Eiffel de BudapestBudapest · 76.3International School of BudapestBudapest · 77.3