Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

The Cambridge High School - Abu Dhabi

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · est. 1988 · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
71.5#64 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The Cambridge High School - Abu Dhabi has been running since 1988 in Shabia ME 9 in Mussafah, near Safeer Mall, and teaches the National Curriculum for England from FS2 to Year 13. The principal is Kim Teakle-May. It is noticeably cheaper than its sister school in the same city: a year in FS2 costs 16,960 dirhams and Years 12 and 13 cost 35,760. The campus is densely equipped and holds something rare for the emirate: an indoor HEATED swimming pool for year-round use, separate physics, chemistry and biology laboratories, four ICT suites, smart boards and projectors in every classroom, a music studio with keyboards, steel drums, percussion and wind instruments, a multi-purpose court with cricket nets, basketball, hockey and a playing field, an air-conditioned auditorium, a library with computers, two art studios and a separate shaded play area for Early Years. There are two canteens - one for boys and one for girls - both with air-conditioned seating. The medical dispensary is staffed by two full-time nurses. There is a dedicated English language support room and a prayer room. What a parent needs to know: students in Years 11, 12 and 13 pay for Cambridge public examinations separately, transport is outsourced to Bright Bus Transport, and uniform is sold by the supplier Threads.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $4 618–9 737 a year
16 960–35 760 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
4 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027, approved by ADEK (AED a year paid one year in advance): FS2 - 16,960, Years 1 and 2 - 20,520, Years 3 and 4 - 22,000, Years 5 and 6 - 23,840, Years 7 and 8 - 27,850, Years 9 and 10 - 29,450, Year 11 - 31,190, Years 12 and 13 - 35,760. Fees may be paid a year in advance or by term. On a new admission a fee equal to 5 per cent of the annual tuition is due: it is non-refundable and non-transferable but is set against the first term's fee. The re-enrolment fee for the following year is the same 5 per cent, also set against fees. Students in Years 11, 12 and 13 pay separately for Cambridge public examinations. Textbooks and stationery come from the school store, uniform from the supplier Threads, and transport from the contractor Bright Bus Transport, to whom it is paid.
Admissions The school sets out its admissions process on a separate page and keeps an age placement guide; on a new admission a fee of 5 per cent of the annual tuition is paid and set against the first term's fee.
Stages and year groups Grades FS2 - Year 13. The school is divided into Foundation Stage, Primary School and Senior School and teaches the National Curriculum for England up to IGCSE and A-level; students in Years 11, 12 and 13 pay for the Cambridge public examinations.
Address Shabia ME 9, Mussafah, Mohammed bin Zayed City

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: An indoor heated swimming pool for year-round use. Separate physics, chemistry and biology laboratories, four ICT suites with high-speed internet, and smart boards and projectors in every classroom. A music studio with keyboards, steel drums, percussion and wind instruments. A multi-purpose court with cricket nets, basketball courts, hockey and a playing field. An air-conditioned auditorium that doubles as a multi-purpose hall for assemblies, performances and large school functions. A library with computers and internet access, two art studios, and a separate shaded play area with age-appropriate equipment for Early Years. Two canteens with air-conditioned seating areas, one for boys and one for girls. A dedicated English language support room and a prayer room. A medical dispensary and a book and uniform store.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The medical dispensary is staffed by two full-time nurses; all cases of injury or illness receive attention, emergency transport to hospital is available where needed, and the dispensary works with the government's Department of Health and Medical Services.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
95
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
79
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Ajman AcademyAjman · 71.5Diyar Private Academy, DibbaFujairah · 71.5Future Leaders International Private SchoolAbu Dhabi · 71.5Jumeirah CollegeDubai · 71.6