← Back to homeColegio San Mateo

Olivos, Argentina · est. 1991 · Private
Illustration · Olivos
Colegio San Mateo, in English Saint Matthew's College, is a bilingual school in Olivos, a northern suburb of Buenos Aires, from the group for two-year-olds to graduation from secondary school. It is an independent school and should not be confused with St. Matthew's College of Belgrano and Pilar: it was opened in 1991 by the educator Mary Carroll de Moore together with a group of families, and the school was conceived on 21 September 1990, the feast of Saint Matthew, hence the name. The school's motto is "Loyalty, Friendship and Respect", its crest is the Moore family crest, and the three houses into which pupils are divided are named after Irish writers: Joyce, Shaw and Swift. Today the founder's work is carried on by her sons Roberto and Eduardo and her grandchildren. The school calls its education co-educational, bilingual and secular, with an emphasis on fluent command of Spanish and English, and says that it has international validity and recognition. At its opening the school had a kindergarten and a complete primary school; the secondary school was completed by 1996, when the first bachilleres graduated. In 2008 a group for two-year-olds was added, and in February 2024 the kindergarten moved into a new building at Carlos Gardel 2731. The primary and secondary school work a full day in two languages; in primary the school relies on project-based learning, and the secondary school graduates pupils with the Bachiller Bilingüe diploma oriented to the social sciences. The language of instruction is clear from the description of the levels: all of them are called bilingual, Spanish and English, and on admission the child is assessed in both languages. The school's site is a single page, and it carries no fees, no number of pupils, and no information on teachers, clubs or examination results.
Key facts
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
Admissions Admission the school sets out in five steps: the family asks for a meeting through the form on the site, the school's leadership invites it to an information meeting presenting the school's project, the family says whether it wishes to continue with admission, then the parents and the child meet the heads of the relevant level, and at this meeting the child is assessed in both languages, Spanish and English; the family is told the result by telephone. The school names no age requirements, no list of documents, no deadlines, no number of places and no conditions for children from abroad.
Stages and year groups Grades group for two-year-olds - year 6 of secondary school. Kindergarten: groups for two-, three- and four-year-olds in the morning shift with the option of staying for a full day, the group for five-year-olds a full day in two languages; since February 2024 the kindergarten occupies a separate building at Carlos Gardel 2731. Primary school: from grade 1 to 6, a full day in two languages, with project-based learning. Secondary school: from year 1 to 6, a full day in two languages, graduating with the Bachiller Bilingüe diploma oriented to the social sciences. The primary and secondary school occupy the building at Roque Sáenz Peña 1855/45/35. The school names no class sizes and no number of parallel classes.
Address Roque Sáenz Peña 1855/45/35, B1636FHY Olivos, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school occupies two buildings in Olivos. The primary and secondary school is at Roque Sáenz Peña 1855/45/35, and since February 2024 the kindergarten is in a new building at Carlos Gardel 2731, where the same project runs for groups from two-year-olds to five-year-olds. The school does not name sports grounds, laboratories, a library, a dining hall or other facilities.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median72 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country