← Back to homeColégio Uirapuru

Sorocaba, Brazil · est. 1989 · Private
Illustration · Sorocaba
The school was opened in 1989 in Sorocaba by Professor Artur Fonseca and his colleagues Artur Fonseca Filho, Glaucy Kuhn Pletsch and Wlademir dos Santos; it is now in its thirty-sixth year and occupies a campus on a street named after its founder. The stages run one after another from the nursery to graduation: Uirapuru Bebê takes children from four months, then come Educação Infantil, Fundamental I from the first to the fifth grade, Fundamental II from the sixth to the ninth and three years of Ensino Médio. The timetable is finely divided and offers a choice: the nursery has an ordinary shift from 7 to 12:30 or from 13 to 18:30, an extended day and a full day from 8 to 18; Fundamental I has lessons from 7:30 to 12:30 with the option of staying until 15 or until 17:15, and in the fourth and the fifth grade children study until 15 on Mondays and Wednesdays; the senior stage studies from 7:15 to 12:45, and in the afternoon there are deepening classes from 14 to 15:15. English is built into the ordinary timetable through the USchool programme: from Infantil 2 to the first grade it is an hour a day through projects and play, from the second to the ninth grade it is six lessons a week on the International Studies course of the Cambridge programme, and in Ensino Médio there are optional subjects in English, from art and literature to a business course. The school works as an official centre of preparation for the Cambridge language examinations, and in the fifth and the eighth grade pupils sit them; separately there is a three-year extracurricular High School Dual Diploma programme with the University of Missouri. The senior stage is given iPads, and in the second to the fourth grade children study with Chromebooks. The leaving class of 2026 the school describes with a number: 93 admissions, and among the universities Fundação Getúlio Vargas, PUC-SP, Mackenzie, Insper, USP, Unicamp, UNESP, UFRJ and Fatec, and among the foreign ones Syracuse University, the University of Kentucky, the Royal College of Music and Trinity College in Dublin; of the leaving class of 2025 it says more than 110 admissions. There are more than twenty additional courses, from robotics and game making to swimming, taekwondo and practice in a group. The school publishes its fees itself, in a document called Valores 2027.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $7 984–14 065 a year
41 400–72 930 BRL
Admits from
4 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Portuguese, English
About the fees The school publishes its fees itself, in a separate document called Valores 2027 on the cost page. The annual sum, which the school calls anuidade, is made up of a first payment on enrolment and twelve monthly ones: for Ensino Médio this is 3,980 plus twelve times 4,740, which gives 60,860 reais; for Infantil 3-5 it is 2,400 plus twelve times 3,250, that is 41,400. In the nursery groups there are eleven payments after the first: the full day is 5,720 plus eleven times 6,110, 72,930 reais in all. The charge for learning materials comes as a separate line. Additional classes are counted on top of this and also in thirteen equal parts: a full day with the USchool Plus language programme five times a week is 33,410 reais a year, a half day with two classes 19,500, and the USchool Plus programme itself 22,620 for five classes a week and 16,120 for two. The prices of the remaining additional courses for 2027 the school promises to publish later. In the fourth and the fifth grade lunch twice a week is included in the fee. The school notes that enrolment depends on the availability of places.
Stages and year groups Grades Berçário (from 4 months) - 3ª série do Ensino Médio. The Uirapuru Bebê nursery is divided into a group from four to twelve months, a group from one to two years and Infantil 2, for those who turned two before 31 March; Infantil 3, 4 and 5 are recruited by the same cut-off of 31 March. Then come Fundamental I from the first to the fifth grade, Fundamental II from the sixth to the ninth and three years of Ensino Médio. The ordinary shift in the nursery runs from 7 to 12:30 or from 13 to 18:30, the extended day and the full day from 8 to 18; in Infantil 2 the ordinary shift runs from 7:30 to 12 or from 13 to 17:30. In Fundamental I the first grade studies from 7:30 to 12:15 or from 13 to 17:45, the second and the third from 7:30 to 12:30 with the option of staying until 14:45 or until 17:15, and the fourth and the fifth until 15 on Mondays and Wednesdays and until 12:30 on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. The senior stage studies from 7:15 to 12:45, and the deepening classes run from 14 to 15:15. The school names no class sizes and no number of year groups.
Address Av. Prof. Arthur Fonseca 633, Jardim Emília, Sorocaba/SP, CEP 18031-005, Brasil
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Where leavers go: Fundação Getúlio Vargas (FGV) · PUC-SP · Universidade Presbiteriana Mackenzie · Insper · Universidade de São Paulo (USP) · Unicamp · UNESP · UFRJ · Fatec · Syracuse University · University of Kentucky · Royal College of Music
and others, 13 universities in the school's list in allThe school publishes a list of admissions by name for the year in a separate document. In the leaving class of 2026 there are 93 admissions and more than 47 institutions named; the ones that recur most often are Fundação Getúlio Vargas, PUC-SP, Mackenzie, Insper and UNESP. Of the leaving class of 2025 the school says more than 110 admissions. The share of those admitted against the number of leavers it does not work out.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Makerspace
Campus: One campus of 25,000 square metres and four blocks. Sport: a heated semi-Olympic pool, a football pitch, a sand court for several games, an indoor sports hall and courts, training rooms. Study and culture: libraries for the pre-school and the primary stages, maker rooms, science laboratories, art studios, a hall of 250 seats with a screen fifteen metres across. On the site there is the Espaço Eco woodland of more than 2,000 square metres for lessons in nature, play yards, green areas and dining rooms.
Clubs and activities (27): Robótica · Makers · Criação de Games · Game Design · Modelagem · Dublagem · Teatro · Música e canto · Prática de banda · Percussão · Pintura · Jazz · Xadrez · Jogos de tabuleiro · Natação · Futebol · Basquete · Handebol · Voleibol · Taekwondo · Pré-desportivo · Treinamentos esportivos · High School (Dual Diploma) · USchool Plus · Comite Olimpico (academic olympiads) · Sociedade de Debates · Períodos Integral e Semi-Integral
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data90 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country