Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Deira International School

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · est. 2005 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
74.8#16 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Deira International School opened in 2005 in Al Badia in Dubai Festival City with 240 pupils and 34 teachers, passed a thousand pupils by 2010, and by its twentieth anniversary in 2025 had grown to more than 2,000 pupils from over 80 countries. Since 2018 the school has been wholly under the stewardship of the Al-Futtaim Education Foundation, which, the school says, reinvests surpluses into learning, teacher support and the campus. In 2024 the Dubai education authority rated the school Outstanding, and the 2025 report of the British BSO inspection confirmed Outstanding in every category. The stages run from Foundation to the senior years, and the final stage is the IB Diploma, preceded by IGCSE. The campus is built for the job: two temperature-controlled swimming pools, a FIFA-approved football pitch, two air-conditioned sports halls, a drama studio, specialist art rooms, music classrooms with practice spaces, science laboratories, design and technology spaces, ICT labs and separate environments for coding and robotics; for the Sixth Form there is an IB Hub and an IB Café. The school is SENDIA-accredited for inclusion and keeps a counselling service within its pastoral system.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · MYP, DP, CP · Cambridge · IGCSE · Pearson Edexcel
Languages
English
School website
About the fees The school publishes its annual fees in a separate file on its own server and gives no figures on the fees page itself. What is known is how payment works: the registration fee is set against the first term's tuition and is not refunded if a family declines an offered place. The fee may be paid in cash at the finance office, by cheque made out to the school, or by post-dated cheques due on 25 August, 25 December and 25 March; a dishonoured cheque costs 250 dirhams. There is an instalment plan through a payment app, and there are scholarships. Uniform, cafeteria meals, transport, trips and activities run by outside providers are not included in the fee.
Admissions Admission runs through the admissions team: an application, a campus visit and a walk-through of the admissions process; the school also runs scholarships. The registration fee is set against the first term's tuition but is not refunded if an offered place is declined. If a family leaves, the fee is recalculated under the rules of the Dubai education authority: from the date of the written request, not from the pupil's last day of attendance.
Stages and year groups Grades Foundation - Year 13. The stages run straight through: Foundation with play-based learning, Primary, Secondary and the IB pathways at the end. Before the diploma a pupil takes IGCSE. For the senior stage the school has built a separate IB Hub and IB Café.
Address Al Badia, Dubai Festival City

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeCOBIS · membershipPearson · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationIB · MYP, DP, CP · authorised programmeBSME · part of the association
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19), CP (ages 16-19, with a vocational slant). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate. CP is the final stage with a vocational slant, ages 16 to 19: some of the DP subjects plus an applied qualification. It is meant for those heading into a trade or an applied degree rather than an academic one.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: The campus is purpose-built and regularly upgraded: two temperature-controlled swimming pools, a FIFA-approved football pitch, two air-conditioned sports halls and outdoor courts, a drama studio, specialist art rooms, music classrooms and practice spaces, science laboratories, design and technology spaces, ICT labs and separate environments for coding and robotics. The senior stage has an IB Hub and an IB Café, and the Foundation Stage its own play area.
Clubs and activities (9): Sport · Creative and performing arts · Academic enrichment · Language and culture clubs · Sushi making · Crochet · Chess club · Student leadership · Sustainability projects
Source: disdubai.ae

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school speaks of consistently strong teaching, clear expectations and carefully sequenced learning, and it began in 2005 with 34 teachers. It publishes no current number of teachers, no qualifications, no pupil-teacher ratio and no class size.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The counselling service is built into the school's pastoral system alongside wellbeing programmes and supports pupils' emotional, social and academic development. The school is SENDIA-accredited for inclusion and calls inclusiveness a property of its design rather than an addition. It names neither a medical room nor security staff nor a separate child protection policy on the pages read.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
93
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
100
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
65
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

The International School of Choueifat - SharjahSharjah · 74.8Emirates National Schools - Mohamed Bin Zayed City CampusAbu Dhabi · 74.8The Aquila SchoolDubai · 74.7Emirates National Schools - Al Ain City CampusAl Ain · 74.9