Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Dubai Gem Private School

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · est. 1973 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
74.6#28 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Dubai Gem Private School has stood in Oud Metha since 1973 and grew out of a single building together with Dubai itself. With the large Dubai group of a similar name it has no connection: only the word Gem coincides, and the school is a separate one, with its own history and its own principal, Parie Stoneman. Teaching follows the national curriculum of England straight through from FS1 to Year 13: in the primary school English, mathematics, science, social studies, Arabic and Islamic studies, alongside computing, physical education and the arts; in Years 10-11 come the IGCSE examinations, and in the sixth form A-level and the EPQ research project. Results the school publishes briefly and for June 2025: 76 per cent of IGCSE grades at A*-B, 67 per cent at A*-B at A-level and 55 per cent at A-B at AS. The fee is low by Dubai standards: from 13,519 dirhams a year in FS1 up to 27,756 in Year 13. What goes on outside lessons the school lists by direction - sports teams, music and choir, STEM and robotics, language and art classes, Model United Nations, enterprise projects and community work. More than thirty policies are posted for the 2026-2027 school year, child protection, inclusion and anti-bullying among them, and they can be read on the site itself. Of its rooms the school names laboratories, a library and a space for robotics, and there the description of the campus ends. What a parent will not find on the site: numbers of pupils and teachers, class sizes, a list of the universities its leavers go to, and a summer camp.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $3 681–7 558 a year
13 519–27 756 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
Registration fee
≈ $143
525 AED
About the fees The annual fee rises with the stage: FS1 and FS2 - 13,519 dirhams, Years 1-3 - 14,158, Years 4-5 - 14,856, Year 6 - 17,046, Year 7 - 17,463, Year 8 - 18,537, Year 9 - 19,654, Years 10-11 - 20,724, Year 12 - 26,173, Year 13 - 27,756. This is the school's price list for the 2025-2026 school year.
Admissions The school takes children of any nationality, any background, either sex and any religion, but with one firm condition: the child must have English both in writing and in speech, because teaching is in English. Entry is open from FS1 to Year 9 and separately into the sixth form for AS and A-level; into Years 10 and 11 the school takes nobody. For FS1 the child must have turned three by 31 August of the same school year. Almost everyone is tested: in FS2 this is an observation interview, in Years 1-2 English and mathematics, from the second year CAT4 is added, and from Year 3 to Year 9 English, mathematics, CAT4 and the New Group Reading Test. Tests are held in April and May, A-level interviews in August, and an offer depends on their outcome. Into the sixth form from outside the school takes only the strong: a minimum of six grades at A or A* at IGCSE, English and mathematics among them, and an A or A* in the subjects the child wants to study. Brothers and sisters of current pupils are invited to test first, but the requirements for them are the same. Children of determination the school admits and adapts its programme for them, and at the entrance assessment it gives them all the arrangements due; outside specialist reports it asks for in advance, in order to plan support. The admission decision the school calls final, and it reserves the right to refuse on the outcome of the assessment and on a mismatch with the spirit of the school.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 - Year 13. The stages run straight through from FS1 to Year 13 and are split by the school into four parts: Foundation Stage, primary school, secondary school and sixth form. The secondary school divides into Years 7-9, Years 10-11 with the IGCSE examinations and Years 12-13 with A-level. The price list is marked out by the same spans the school uses to count its stages. Class sizes and the pattern of the school day the school does not publish.
Address 17 B Street, Oud Metha

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results For June 2025 the school names three figures: 76 per cent of all IGCSE grades awarded are A*-B, 67 per cent of A-level grades are A*-B, and 55 per cent of AS grades are A-B. A breakdown by subject, a pass rate and results of earlier years the school does not give.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Rooms the school names few: laboratories, a library and a space for robotics and science. Neither a swimming pool, nor a sports hall, nor an assembly hall, nor a canteen, nor a clinic is on its pages, and a description of the campus as a whole is not there either: the school only mentions that it grew from one building into a larger one along with the city and added modern rooms as it went. A bus the school does have, and it stands in the price list at two rates by distance.
Clubs and activities (11): Sports teams · Music · Choir · STEM · Robotics · Language classes · Arts · Drama productions · Model United Nations · Enterprise projects · Community work
Source: dubaigem.ae

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
About its teachers the school speaks only through support for the pupil: personal mentoring by a tutor, the work of a counsellor and a safeguarding service, plus separate help for pupils with special educational needs. Neither a number of teachers, nor their qualifications, nor a ratio to pupils, nor class sizes does it name, and there is no staff list by name on the site.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Child protection the school posts as a document for the current school year - a child protection and safeguarding policy for 2026-2027 - and it does not lie there alone: beside it stand an admissions policy, an anti-bullying policy, a cyberbullying policy, an inclusion policy for pupils of determination, a behaviour and discipline policy, a health and safety policy, a wellbeing policy, an attendance and punctuality policy, a mobile phone procedure, a substance misuse prevention policy and a separate anti-vaping policy - more than thirty documents in all, and all of them for 2026-2027. The school lets them be read on the site itself, as a page-turning book. In the primary school it names a counselling service and direct routes for raising a concern about a child. Neither a nurse, nor security, nor a named person responsible for child protection does the school name.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
84
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Providence English Private SchoolSharjah · 74.6Frontline International Private SchoolAjman · 74.6American Gulf SchoolSharjah · 74.5Jumeira Baccalaureate SchoolDubai · 74.5