← Back to homeDubai International Private School - Al Garhoud

Dubai, UAE · est. 1985 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
Dubai International Private School is a Dubai school founded in 1985, with two branches: one in Al Garhoud and one in Al Quoz. This entry is about the Garhoud one, DIPS-G. The school is an old one by Dubai standards: its alumni gathered for a reunion thirty-one years after leaving. Of its facilities it names hi-tech classrooms, science and technology laboratories, art and music rooms, indoor and outdoor sports, swimming, a STEM lab, a library and a UAE museum. The school has a clinic of its own with its own telephone number. Its set of policies is broad: child protection, students of determination and inclusion, lost and found, recruitment; there are separate pages on the philosophy and aims of the inclusion programme, on the categories of special educational needs and on the levels of support. The school publishes its own magazine issue by issue, holds elections for the president and vice-president of the student council and takes part in the Dubai Fitness Challenge 30x30. It does have annual fees, but they are laid out in separate circulars, and the application fee is 525 dirhams.
Key facts
Registration fee
≈ $143
525 AED
Admissions An application is made through the online registration page; after the acknowledgement email with an enquiry number the school asks for an application fee of 525 dirhams. The school keeps separate pages on age requirements and grade placement, on the list of documents, on the medical form and insurance, on the admissions process itself and on the withdrawal procedure; there are dedicated forms for divorced parents. The school does not print the figures of its age table on its open pages.
Address Al Garhoud, 57th Street, opposite GGICO metro station, Dubai, PO Box 15495
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cognia · accreditationNEASC · candidateCollege Board · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED
The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges
An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.
What the badge means for this school. The school is a candidate for accreditation by this organisation: the route has been started but not completed. Candidacy speaks of an application made and a file accepted for consideration, not of the outcome of an inspection, and the organisations themselves usually require schools to say that it does not guarantee accreditation. The candidacy is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme
An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →AP
Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.
What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Makerspace
Campus: The school lists hi-tech classrooms, science and technology laboratories, art and music rooms, indoor and outdoor sports, swimming, a STEM lab, a library and a UAE museum. Separately it has a clinic with its own telephone number and school transport.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a child protection policy, a students of determination and inclusion policy and a clinic of its own with its own telephone number. Beyond these it publishes health and safety guidelines and a recruitment policy. It names neither a psychologist nor security staff.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)63 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median65 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country