A City of Espoo unified comprehensive school on the Opinmäki campus: "EIS constitutes a uniform, international English-language comprehensive school with circa 600 pupils in grades 1-9." All grades follow the Finnish National Curriculum with the city and school curricula; in grades 7-9 the school is an authorised IB World School for the Middle Years Programme (MYP), and 9th graders complete the compulsory Personal Project. "The main language of instruction is English"; Finnish is compulsory, Swedish compulsory from grade 6, Spanish or French optional from grade 4 and German, Spanish or Russian from grade 8. Pupils receive two grades in each subject: an MYP grade from 1 to 7 and a Finnish grade from 4 to 10. The school takes part in KiVa Koulu and Eco-Schools (Green Flag), has a student council and a 9th grade mentoring programme. There are no graduating classes: after grade 9 pupils move on to upper secondary schools and colleges through the joint application. Language of instruction stated by the school.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · MYP · National programme
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Finnish, Swedish, Spanish, French, German, Russian
About the fees The school is municipal; it does not write about tuition on its pages. The school's 2026-2027 handbook states that "Textbooks, other school supplies and necessary work materials required for teaching are provided to the student free of charge" and that "The school offers a free school lunch to students every working day."
Admissions The school "offers education in the English language for international and Finnish families living in Espoo"; pupils from other municipalities are not admitted (except under municipal agreements), families moving to Espoo receive a conditional decision. Intake to grade 1 (50 places), grade 4 and grade 7 (up to 100 pupils in total), each with an entrance test: for grade 1 an English test and a linguistic skills test taken in English with minimum scores, for grades 4 and 7 an overall test with a minimum score; ties go to siblings, then lots. Sixth graders of Espoo English-language schools continue to grade 7 without applying. Temporary places in grades 1-9 for up to three years are available without an exam, based on previous English-language studies. "Preparatory education is needed if a student does not pass the EIS English proficiency entrance exam" and cannot speak Finnish. "Pupils do not have a subjective right to be admitted to English-language education, as opposed to a local school"; admitted pupils are not entitled to the school travel benefit.
Stages and year groups Grades grades 1-9 (perusopetus); grades 7-9 - IB Middle Years Programme, 9 classes. Finnish basic education from grade 1 to grade 9 in English: primary grades 1-6 and middle grades 7-9. Grades 7-9 follow the IB MYP in eight subject groups with Finnish National Core Curriculum content; in grade 9 the Personal Project is compulsory, and the official final grade and MYP certificate come from the IB in September. PYP and DP do not appear on the website; there is no pre-primary stage.
Address Lillhemtintie 1, 02250 Espoo
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · MYP · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Middle Years Programme at the school, taught in grades 7-9. It is a municipal English-language comprehensive school for grades 1-9 on the Finnish curriculum.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school operates on the Opinmäki campus: a three-floor building with a lift and accessible toilets, a school cafeteria serving a free hot lunch, the Opinmäki library.
Clubs and activities: Circus · Coding · Band · Music Production · Yearbook · Digital Photography · Game Development and Coding · Eco-Schools · Global Citizenship (inclusion team) · EIS Crew (senior student helpers) · Student Council
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers52
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school's 2026-2027 handbook lists 52 staff members including the principal, the vice principal, the student guidance counsellor and the special education teachers, plus three assistants and a community counsellor. The MYP coordinator is one of the teachers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
Two school nurses, a psychologist and a welfare officer from the Western Uusimaa Wellbeing Services County, two special education teachers and a community counsellor. The school uses the KiVa Koulu anti-bullying programme and publishes its Steps of Intervention for 2026; bullying can be reported to a teacher, the welfare officer, a red concerns box near the nurse's office or a dedicated e-mail address. Trained 8th and 9th graders (EIS Crew) help supervise recess. School rules forbid leaving the premises during the school day and phone use in lessons.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median95 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country