← Back to the rankingExplorers Academy Leszno - Akademia Odkrywców Dwujęzyczna Niepubliczna Szkoła Podstawowa

Leszno, Poland · est. 2012 · Private
Illustration · Leszno
Explorers Academy is the new name of Akademia Odkrywców, a private bilingual primary school in Leszno. The complex at ul. Iglasta 4 opened in September 2012 as a toddler club and kindergarten; a primary school (szkoła podstawowa, grades 1-8, ages 7-15) was added later. In July 2025 the school became an IB candidate, and in February 2026 it was authorised for the Primary Years Programme. Students follow the full Polish curriculum (podstawa programowa), with the IB PYP adding six transdisciplinary themes, inquiry-based learning and a final Exhibition project in grades 5-6. English accompanies the children every day - in play, projects and lessons; the two languages of instruction are inferred from the school's description of itself as bilingual and from the PYP requirement of learning in at least two languages. Groups are small and the school works with a psychologist. Since 2026 the school carries the Explorers Academy name, while Akademia Odkrywców remains the name of the kindergarten and toddler club.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · PYP · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Polish, English
Admissions Admissions for 2026/2027 are open for the school, kindergarten, toddler club and extra activities. Steps: an online form, a reply from the office within 48 hours offering a meeting or visit, then a decision and enrolment formalities (for the school, an application questionnaire). There is no entrance examination; English is not required on entry - bilingualism is built gradually. A visit is recommended but not required.
Stages and year groups Toddler club (ages 0-3), kindergarten (przedszkole, ages 3-6) and szkoła podstawowa (grades 1-8, ages 7-15). The school follows the full Polish curriculum (podstawa programowa, ending with the egzamin ósmoklasisty) together with the IB Primary Years Programme: six transdisciplinary themes, subject areas language, social studies, mathematics, arts, science and physical, social and personal education; a final Exhibition project in grades 5-6. The school does not mention Cambridge or Pearson courses.
Address ul. Iglasta 4, 64-100 Leszno
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Primary Years Programme. The school has run the Primary Years Programme since February 2026, alongside the full Polish curriculum.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The complex is fenced and under CCTV; the school works with a school psychologist and adapts teaching for children with special educational needs.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median89 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country