← Back to homeGEMS Founders School - Masdar City

Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
GEMS Founders School - Masdar City in Abu Dhabi is a new British school of the Founders brand, GEMS's affordable line, and the first educational institution focused on sustainability in Masdar City itself, a district built around clean technology. The school lives by that directly: it names sustainability, innovation and global stewardship as its theme, and it is led by a founding principal. Children are taken from the age of three and taught, for now, to Year 10 - the school grows one year group at a time. The curriculum is the traditional UK one but in an international context, with the UAE Ministry of Education syllabus incorporated into its structure. The campus is listed in detail: laboratories and computer labs, food technology labs, makerspaces, music and drama spaces, art rooms, separate libraries for early years, primary and senior students, a Sixth Form study hall, a special educational needs department, a primary sports hall and a senior sports hall with a multi-purpose hall, two health clinics, a canteen, two football fields, four MUGA courts for basketball, netball and volleyball, indoor play areas for the youngest, play areas for Foundation Stage and primary, and outdoor learning spaces. Of its extracurricular programme the school writes that it develops interests and abilities beyond lessons, but it names no single activity.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $7 080–9 803 a year
26 000–36 000 AED
About the fees The 2026-27 annual fee in the school's table: 26,000 dirhams for FS1, 28,500 for FS2, 31,000 for Years 1-3, 32,000 for Years 4-6, 34,000 for Years 7-9 and 36,000 for Year 10. The breakdown in the same table is a re-enrolment charge plus three instalments, with the re-enrolment charge coming first and equal to five per cent of the annual fee: from 1,300 dirhams in FS1 to 1,800 in Year 10. The first instalment is about a third larger than the two that follow. There are no senior year groups in the table: it ends with Year 10.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 from age 3 - Year 10. The school grows one year group at a time and currently runs from FS1 to Year 10. The curriculum is the traditional UK one in an international context, with the UAE Ministry of Education syllabus incorporated into its structure. A Sixth Form study hall is already built on campus, but Years 12 and 13 do not appear in the fee table.
Address Masdar City
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
BSO · accreditationBSME · part of the associationGEMS · school is part of the networkschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East
One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →GEMSschool network
GEMS Education is a private school group that describes itself on its own site as one of the oldest and largest K-12 (to Grade 12 / Year 13) private education providers in the world. The site dates its start to 1959 («Our story began in 1959«, «65+ Years of Legacy«), while another page on the same site says «over 60 Years of Legacy«. School counts on the site disagree: the homepage says both «52 schools across the UAE, Qatar and Egypt« and «Choose from our list of over 47 schools«, while the Our Company page says GEMS has schools «in the Middle East, North Africa, Asia, Europe and North America«. Students: «200,000 students from over 176 countries« (Our Company) and «over 200,000« (homepage). On ownership the site is explicit: «GEMS Education own, operate and manage schools globally« — it both owns and manages, but does not say which schools fall into which category.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Campus: A campus in Masdar City, Abu Dhabi's clean-technology district. Laboratories, computer labs, food technology labs, makerspaces and innovation hubs, art rooms, music and drama spaces, separate libraries for early years, primary and senior students, a Sixth Form study hall, a special educational needs department, a primary sports hall and a senior sports hall with a multi-purpose hall, two health clinics, a canteen, two football fields, four MUGA courts for basketball, netball and volleyball, indoor play areas for the youngest, play areas for Foundation Stage and primary, and outdoor learning spaces.
Teaching staff
There is no data for this section yet.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
There are two health clinics on campus and a special educational needs department. The school keeps its safeguarding policy on a separate page in the parents' section; its content is not entered in the card.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country