Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Hartland International School

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
68.5#147 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Hartland International School is a British school in Sobha Hartland in Nad Al Sheba, inside Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum City, and its path runs straight through: from FS1 to Year 13, with a Sixth Form of its own. The curriculum is the National Curriculum for England, and the school calls its own way of doing things The Hartland Way: academic demand, enrichment and pastoral support together. The senior stage is broad: more than twenty A level courses, BTEC courses in business and physical education, and the option of taking A levels alongside the Extended Project Qualification; the usual load for a leaver is three A levels. Care is built around tutors and counsellors: tutors follow each pupil's progress, while the school's counsellors handle emotional support, the choice of university and career planning. The campus stands out on the creative side: a 650-seat theatre, a professional recording studio, a music technology room with separate practice rooms, a design technology suite with a 3D design laboratory, a food technology room and a textiles room, a multi-purpose sports hall and a dance studio. There are two pools: a teaching pool for the Foundation Stage and a heated 25-metre pool from Year 1 upwards. Libraries are provided separately in the primary and the secondary school, and outside there is a football pitch and shaded sports courts. The school promises plenty of clubs and interest activities and calls its enrichment programme an integral part of learning, but it publishes no named list. The annual fee rises from 48,781 dirhams in FS1 to 92,803 in Years 12 and 13, and all of it is approved by the KHDA.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $13 283–25 270 a year
48 781–92 803 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · A-Level · BTEC
Admits from
3 years
Languages
English
About the fees The annual fee for 2026-2027: 48,781 dirhams in FS1, 54,730 in FS2, 59,251 in Years 1 and 2, 64,248 in Years 3 and 4, 66,628 in Years 5 and 6, 83,285 from Year 7 to Year 9, 88,044 in Years 10 and 11 and 92,803 in Years 12 and 13. It is paid in three termly parts. Alongside it the school shows a second grid about nine per cent lower - 44,346 dirhams in FS1 and so on by stage - which applies when payment is made on its terms. All of the fees are approved by the KHDA, and the school says so plainly.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 from age 3 - Year 13. The stages run straight through: FS1 and FS2 are the early years, Key Stage 1 is Years 1 and 2, Key Stage 2 Years 3 to 6, Key Stage 3 Years 7 to 9, Key Stage 4 Years 10 and 11, and the Sixth Form Years 12 and 13.
Address Sobha Hartland, Nad Al Sheba, Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum City

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

COBIS · accreditationBSO · accreditationBSME · part of the association
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeA-Level

Programmes of the University of Cambridge: the school teaches to Cambridge syllabuses and enters its pupils for exams that Cambridge marks itself. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

What this means for this school. The papers are marked by Cambridge, not by the school, so a leaver's grade does not depend on how strict their own teachers are with them. To enter pupils for these exams a school has to be registered as a Cambridge exam centre; registration as a centre is permission to run exams rather than accreditation of the school, and it says nothing about the quality of teaching. IGCSE is taken at around Year 10 or 11 and A-Level in the final years, and it is the A-Level results that carry a pupil into British and many other universities.

BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Campus: Spacious, light teaching rooms. A 650-seat theatre, a professional recording studio, a music technology room and a set of individual music practice rooms, a design technology suite with a 3D design laboratory, a food technology room and a textiles room, a multi-purpose sports hall, a dance studio and a separate creative arts room for the Foundation Stage. Two pools: a teaching pool for the Foundation Stage and a heated 25-metre pool from Year 1 upwards. Libraries separately in the primary and the secondary school. Outside there is a football pitch and shaded sports courts.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Tutors monitor each pupil's progress closely, while the school's counsellors handle emotional support, next steps and university applications; in the senior stage a counsellor also covers career planning.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
54
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Brighton College Al AinAl Ain · 68.5GEMS Al Khaleej International SchoolDubai · 68.4Madar International SchoolAl Ain · 68.6Jumeirah English Speaking SchoolDubai · 68.2