Ranking · Poland · Gliwice
← Back to the ranking

I Liceum Ogólnokształcące Dwujęzyczne im. Edwarda Dembowskiego w Gliwicach

Poland Gliwice, Poland · est. 1949 · State
Illustration · Gliwice
77.3#18 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

I Liceum Ogólnokształcące Dwujęzyczne im. Edwarda Dembowskiego is a public liceum in central Gliwice founded in 1949; since then more than 9,5 thousand graduates have received their maturity certificate here. The liceum is bilingual in all classes: English at bilingual level for 6 hours a week and at least two subjects taught partly or fully in English. Alongside the bilingual classes (a polytechnic class with Politechnika Śląska and science and social studies classes) there are international classes: grades 1-2 follow the IB Middle Years Programme and grades 3-4 the IB Diploma Programme, with most subjects in English. A pre-IB class has run since 2009; the liceum gained DP authorisation in 2010, the first state school in Śląskie to do so, and MYP authorisation in 2017. The liceum is a registered UCAS centre for applications to British universities, runs the DSD II programme in German and prepares students for DELF and DELE. In 2022 its IB graduates averaged 38 points against a world average of 31,98. In the Perspektywy 2026 ranking the liceum earned the Złota Szkoła title and first place among licea in Gliwice.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
IB · MYP, DP · National programme
Admits from
15 years
Languages of instruction
Polish, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish
School website
About the fees The liceum is public and run by the city of Gliwice; education is free for all students. Families pay IB Diploma Programme examination fees to the school's account in euros; the website does not give the amount.
Admissions Grade 1 admission is through the electronic admission system of Śląskie under general Polish rules: points for grades (Polish, English, mathematics and a track subject; in international classes Polish, English, mathematics and the second foreign language) and the egzamin ósmoklasisty. All candidates, whatever position they give the liceum, take a pass/fail English test (possibly online): bilingual classes require at least 30% and the MYP/DP international classes at least 70%; the test gives no extra points. Winners and finalists of English olympiads and regional competitions are exempt. For the 2026-2027 school year: a polytechnic class with 28 places, two science and social studies classes with 56 places, and two MYP/DP international classes with 28 places each. The website does not mention admission of foreigners.
Stages and year groups A four-year liceum ogólnokształcące leading to the matura; all classes are bilingual. Bilingual classes: polytechnic (extended mathematics and physics, an innovative programme with Politechnika Śląska) and science and social studies (two extended subjects chosen from biology, chemistry, geography, history, mathematics and civics). International classes: in grades 1-2 the IB MYP (programme years 4 and 5, the personal project in grade 2, service as action, plus drama and an introduction to theory of knowledge), in grades 3-4 the IB Diploma Programme in English. DP subjects: Language A Polish literature and English language and literature; Language B English, German, French, Spanish; economics, geography, history, psychology; biology, chemistry, physics; two mathematics courses; plus TOK, the Extended Essay, CAS and the Group 4 Project. Second foreign language: German (with the DSD II programme), French or Spanish.
Address ul. Zimnej Wody 8, 44-100 Gliwice

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmePASCH · takes part in the programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Middle Years and Diploma programmes. The IB track runs in the international classes of a Polish liceum: the Diploma in grades 3-4, alongside the Polish curriculum leading to the matura. The school is part of the PASCH network.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PASCHSchools: Partners for the Future, an initiative of the German foreign ministry

More than two thousand schools in about 120 countries. A school cannot apply for itself: participants are chosen by German agencies in agreement with the embassy. Very different schools sit under one mark - full German schools abroad, and ordinary national schools that simply teach German well.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to a German support programme. By itself the mark means neither a German curriculum nor the right to award a German certificate: of the two thousand PASCH schools, about seventeen hundred hold no such right. Look for a ZfA status next to it - that is the one that is about this. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
38 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma 2022: the liceum's graduates averaged 38 points against a world average of 31,98, an average subject grade of 5,93 out of 7, and two students scored the maximum 45 points. Polish matura 2022: 99% passed. The website does not publish more recent IB results; the best students page lists years up to 2024.
Where leavers go: University of Oxford · University of Cambridge · Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) · Sorbonne University
The liceum says its graduates study at Oxford, Cambridge, MIT and the Sorbonne; a 2022 graduate was admitted to the University of Cambridge. The liceum is a registered UCAS centre, and a teacher-adviser handles applications to British universities. Its partners are Politechnika Śląska, Śląski Uniwersytet Medyczny, Uniwersytet Śląski and Uniwersytet Ekonomiczny w Katowicach.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: The liceum in central Gliwice occupies a 1915 building at ul. Zimnej Wody 8. In April 2021 a new sports hall and artificial-surface pitches opened, and since September 2021 sciences have been taught in a new teaching building with equipped laboratories. Classrooms have computers and multimedia, and there is a school library, lifts for students with disabilities, a school nurse and dental care. The buffet sells sandwiches, snacks and one hot dish a day, and lunches can be ordered a day ahead. It is a day school with no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Hiking Club · School Volunteering Club · Jedynka TV · DEMUN · IB Review Gliwice Magazine · German Group with the DSD Program · Youth Exchange · Erasmus+ Project · Sports Classes

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The staff page names the head, three deputy heads (for the liceum, for the MYP and pastoral care, for the international matura and bilingual teaching) and about 66 teachers, including a psychologist, a special education teacher and a CAS coordinator; administrative and support staff are listed separately. A school psychologist, a special education teacher and a careers adviser also hold office hours.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The liceum has a school psychologist, a special education teacher and a careers adviser, and provides psychological and educational support. The school nurse provides preventive care, screening and first aid; dental care is available. The website lists emergency contacts for students and parents.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
88
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Regent College International SchoolsElblag · 77.4British International School of CracowKrakow · 77.5British International School GdańskGdansk · 77International School of KrakowKrakow · 77