A state istituto comprensivo in southern Rome, in the Tor de' Cenci district, formerly I.C. 'Via Santi Savarino': early years, primary and lower secondary school in four buildings. The buildings date from 1970, and the schools merged into an istituto comprensivo in 2012. According to the website, 940 children attend in 46 classes. Teaching follows the Italian state curriculum in Italian. Since the 2023-2024 school year the lower secondary has run a Cambridge International section: Science, English as a Second Language and Art & Design in English with a native-speaker teacher, within the regular timetable; at the end of grade 3 pupils sit Cambridge Checkpoint exams in Science and English as a Second Language. Since 1998 the lower secondary has had a free music section (guitar, flute, piano, violin). The second foreign language is Spanish or French.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · Lower Secondary · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Spanish, French
Class size
20 pupils per class on average
About the fees The school is state-run, tuition is free, and the music section is also free. Families pay for the Cambridge course in the Cambridge section: 280 EUR in a single payment for the 2026-2027 school year, plus in grade 3 the Checkpoint exams at 46,10 EUR for Science and 46,10 EUR for English.
Admissions Enrolment in all stages follows the national online iscrizioni procedure on the ministry portal using SPID digital identity; for the 2026-2027 school year it ran from 13 January to 14 February. Admission to the music section is by aptitude tests, with no prior musical training required. The school does not say how the Cambridge section is filled. The website says nothing about admitting foreign children or children without Italian.
Stages and year groups Italian state first-cycle curriculum: scuola dell'infanzia (ages 3-5), scuola primaria (5 years), scuola secondaria di primo grado (3 years, diploma conclusivo del primo ciclo). Cambridge Lower Secondary in the Cambridge section of the lower secondary (in 2026-2027 classes 1L, 1M, 2M, 3M, 1N, 2N, 3N): 2 hours of Science, 1 hour of Art & Design and 1 hour of English as a Second Language a week (within the three English hours), with a native-speaker teacher and no extra hours; at the end of grade 3, Cambridge Checkpoint in Science and English as a Second Language, with no exam in Art & Design. The school has been registered with Cambridge International since 17 June 2024; in 2024 it planned similar courses in primary from 2025-2026. The lower secondary has a music section.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Lower Secondary · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Lower Secondary. A fee-paying Cambridge section in middle school teaches science, art and design and English as a Second Language with a native speaker; Checkpoint in year 3 is optional.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Music Programme (guitar, flute, piano, violin) · Chess at School · Extracurricular Latin
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school reports 46 classes with 20 pupils per class on average. In the Cambridge section lessons are co-taught by native English-speaking teachers and the school's own teachers; English as a Second Language is taught by the regular English teacher.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
Meetings with the school psychologist on bullying and cyberbullying are held for families.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data67 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country