← Back to the rankingIstituto Comprensivo «Sorrento»

Sorrento, Italy · est. 2013 · State
Illustration · Sorrento
Istituto Comprensivo Sorrento is a state group of three pre-schools, a primary and a lower secondary school in central Sorrento for children aged 3 to 14. It was formed in the 2013-2014 school year, when a new lower secondary school was added to the historic Sorrento - Capoluogo primary school district, in operation since 1935. Teaching follows the Italian national curriculum in Italian. Both primary and secondary school have two tracks: Cambridge and STEAM. In the Cambridge Primary classes 7 hours a week are taught in English (Global English and Science), in the Cambridge Lower Secondary classes 6 hours (Global English and Global Perspectives), with some lessons taught by native speakers. The STEAM track is built on project-based science, technology, engineering, art and mathematics. In the 2023-2024 school year 616 children attended in 36 classes.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees Tuition at this state school is free. Families pay a contribution for the Cambridge Primary and Cambridge Lower Secondary tracks (see fees).
Admissions First-year primary and secondary enrolment is online only through the state Piattaforma Unica (in 2026 from 13 January to 14 February); pre-school enrolment is by form at the school; when enrolling, families state their preferred track (Cambridge or STEAM), and the school helps with the application. Families pay a contribution for the Cambridge track.
Stages and year groups 36 classes. Italian state first-cycle curriculum. Pre-school - 40 hours (8:30-16:30) or 45 hours (8:00-17:00) a week, with first English lessons from a native speaker, coding and robotics. Primary: Cambridge Primary track - 40 hours a week, 7 of them in English (5 hours of Global English and 2 hours of Science; 2 hours with a native speaker, 5 with a specially trained school teacher); STEAM track - 30 hours plus 2 enrichment hours. Secondary - 36 hours a week: Cambridge Lower Secondary track - 6 hours in English (5 hours of Global English and 1 hour of Global Perspectives; 3 hours with a native speaker, 3 with a school teacher), and a STEAM track; esame di Stato at the end of year 3. The website says Cambridge Primary students prepare for international exams but does not name Checkpoint directly. The school is a Cambridge Gold Preparation Centre 2025-2026: students take Cambridge English exams there (Starters, Movers, Flyers, KET, PET), and Goethe-Institut exams in German.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary. Cambridge streams teach 7 hours a week in English in primary (Global English and Science) and 6 in middle school (Global English and Global Perspectives), with a family contribution.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio · Makerspace
Campus: The main building on Via Vittorio Veneto near Piazza della Vittoria, a short walk from the historic centre, houses the primary and secondary schools and one pre-school. The secondary school has subject lab classrooms (art, technology, music, science, computing, reading, storytelling, history and geography), a multipurpose hall, a new science lab, an Agora, a library with a reading area and a Funtronic interactive floor. The Gugliucci pre-school is set in greenery in the upper part of Sorrento, and the Cesarano building has been completely demolished and rebuilt. Canteen and school bus in all buildings are provided by the Comune of Sorrento. Primary school runs 8:30 to 16:30, secondary school 36 hours a week, until 17:00 on Wednesdays and Fridays.
Clubs and activities: Chess at School · German Is Fun · Native English Speaker Workshops · IMUN Project · Swimming at School · School Sports Games · Young Talent on Stage · eTwinning · Erasmus · Let's Have Fun with German
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
English-taught lessons on the Cambridge track are shared between native speakers and specially trained school teachers: in primary a native speaker teaches 2 of the 7 hours, in secondary 3 of the 6. Pre-school and primary run workshops with native English speakers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The secondary school runs an anti-bullying and anti-cyberbullying project, primary and secondary follow the SEE Learning social and emotional programme, and the school has an inclusion plan (PAI).
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country