Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

International Community School, Al Manhal

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
62.2#341 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The International Community School on the Al Manhal campus is the fourth branch of the Abu Dhabi ICS network, and it is identified by its reception address: br4reception, that is branch 4, exactly as the entry stands in the British inspection registry. It teaches the National Curriculum of England, from the EYFS early years with its seven areas of learning up to the secondary school. The school describes its campus through its equipment: science and IT labs with interactive boards, multi-purpose rooms for lessons that use movement and practical analysis, and outdoors football pitches, basketball courts and running tracks. It shows no fee figures on its site, and no pupil numbers or year of foundation either.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
being checked
Languages
English
School website
Address Al Khalidiya Area, PO Box 2977

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

BSO · accreditationCognia · accreditationBSME · part of the associationInternational Community Schools · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED

The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
International Community Schoolsschool network

International Community Schools (ICS) is a school group in Abu Dhabi. The site dates its start to 1990, when it opened as Al Ibrahimiyah School with 130 students, and says it now has «over 6000 academic minds«. It lists six campuses: ICS Mushrif, ICS Al Danah, ICS Al Falah City, ICS Khalifa City, ICS Al Manhal, ICS Al Maharat — some American, some British curriculum, covering Pre-KG/FS1 to Grade 12/Year 13. The group also has a separate nurseries site (nurseries.icschool-uae.com). The site names Mohamed Al-Shamma as Managing Director & CEO. The homepage student counter renders as «0+«, i.e. the figure does not load there.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: Science and IT labs with interactive boards, multi-purpose rooms for lessons that use movement and practical analysis, and spacious outdoor sports areas - football pitches, basketball courts and running tracks.

Teaching staff

There is no data for this section yet.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

There is no data for this section yet.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
60
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
68
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Mohammed Bin Hamad Al Sharqi Cycle 3 For BoysFujairah · 62.2Hamad Bin Abdullah Al Sharqi Secondary Boys SchoolFujairah · 62.2Secondary Model School For BoysSharjah · 62Mariam Bint Sultan Girls SchoolAl Ain · 62