← Back to the rankingIstituto di Istruzione Superiore Classico e Artistico di Terni

Terni, Italy · State
Illustration · Terni
Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Classico e Artistico (IISCA) in Terni is a state school (scuola statale) created in the 2013-2014 school year by merging the Liceo Classico G.C. Tacito and the Liceo Artistico O. Metelli under one management; both schools kept their buildings and programmes. Besides the standard course, the liceo classico offers Cambridge International, Giuridico Internazionale (law and English), Scienza+ (more maths and science), Arte e Musica, Digital Humanities and, since 2019-2020, a biomedical track. In the Cambridge International and Giuridico Internazionale courses some subjects follow Cambridge syllabuses in English with native-speaker teachers, and exams are optional. Other lessons are in Italian. The liceo artistico offers audiovisual and multimedia, graphic design, architecture and environment, fine arts, metal and jewellery design, and furniture and wood design. There are 998 students: 563 in the liceo classico and 435 in the liceo artistico.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees The school is state-run and tuition is free. Native-speaker English teachers, language certificates, laboratories, theatre and music courses are funded partly from family contributions; the school mentions the contributions and the Cambridge course surcharge without figures.
Admissions A state school: enrolment in the first year follows the national Iscrizioni online procedure, choosing the liceo classico (with one of its options) or the liceo artistico. The site does not describe a separate selection for the Cambridge course. The PTOF says that foreign students are a minority and well integrated into school life.
Stages and year groups 51 classes. Five-year programmes ending with the esame di Stato: liceo classico (27 hours a week in years 1-2 and 31 in years 3-5; Cambridge International, Giuridico Internazionale, Scienza+, Arte e Musica, Digital Humanities options, biomedical track from year 3) and liceo artistico (common years 1-2 of 34 hours, then tracks of 35 hours). Cambridge: in the Cambridge International course - English as a Second Language (2 extra English hours in year 1 and years 3-4, 1 extra hour in year 2; exam from year 3), Mathematics (an extra hour in year 2, exam between years 2 and 3), Latin (one hour a week with a native speaker within Latin lessons, exam in year 4 or 5), Physics (taught in English in the final year, optional exam with extra afternoon lessons); in the Giuridico Internazionale course - English as a Second Language (exam around year 3) and Law at AS/A Level (about 40 hours a year, exam in year 4 or 5). All Cambridge subjects are taught with a native speaker, exams are optional, sessions in June and November.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE, AS and A Level. The Cambridge International track teaches English, maths, Latin and physics to IGCSE with native speakers, while the international law track adds Law at AS/A Level; exams are optional.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio
Campus: Three buildings in central and eastern Terni: the liceo classico on Via Fratti (with a branch on Via Giovannini) and the liceo artistico on Via Croce, plus an exhibition space on Piazza Briccialdi. The liceo classico has a library, computer and multimedia rooms, a physics and chemistry lab, language labs, an audiovisual lab, multipurpose rooms and Wi-Fi. The liceo artistico has studios for graphic and pictorial arts, sculpture and geometry, a computer room, labs for graphics, fine arts, audiovisual and multimedia, architecture and design, furniture and wood design, metal and jewellery design, a training workshop A scuola di Impresa, a gym and an auditorium.
Clubs and activities: IMUN, GCMUNER · SNAP (Italian Parliament simulation) · PRESS · Theatre and Music Courses · Choral Practice
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The PTOF includes a protocol against bullying and cyberbullying; evacuation plans are published on the building pages.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data73 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country