← Back to the rankingIstituto Statale di Istruzione Superiore Gadda-Rosselli

Gallarate, Italy · est. 1981 · State
Illustration · Gallarate
Gadda-Rosselli is a state upper secondary school in Gallarate, near Malpensa airport. It grew out of the Carlo Emilio Gadda commercial institute, opened in 1981, and the Carlo Rosselli institute of 1987; they merged in 2004, and from 2010 a liceo was added to the technical tracks. Today it has a technical economic institute (Amministrazione, Finanza e Marketing, Relazioni Internazionali per il Marketing, Sistemi Informativi Aziendali, Turismo) and licei - linguistic, including the EsaBac Italian-French double diploma, and humanities (scienze umane, since 2020). Since 2017 the school has been registered as a Cambridge International School: in the Turismo track with the Cambridge option English is taught with Cambridge methods and students take IGCSE exams in English as a Second Language and in travel and tourism. Teaching is in Italian; in EsaBac history is taught in French.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, German, Spanish
About the fees The school is a state school and charges no tuition. Families pay a voluntary contribution (contributo volontario) that supplements the school budget; the site gives neither its amount nor the Cambridge exam fees.
Admissions Enrolment in grade 1 follows the national Iscrizioni online procedure; in the Turismo track families choose the Cambridge option and a second language (German, Spanish or French). The site does not describe selection for the Cambridge option. Foreign students are admitted through a reception programme: an intensive Italian as a second language course, peer tutoring and cultural mediation; many students do not have Italian citizenship, especially in the technical institute.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 istituto tecnico, 1-5 liceo. Technical economic institute, five years with the esame di Stato: Amministrazione, Finanza e Marketing (common biennio, then AFM, Relazioni Internazionali per il Marketing with English, German and French, Sistemi Informativi Aziendali) and Turismo with the Cambridge option (English plus a second and third language chosen from German, Spanish and French). Licei: linguistico (three languages, EsaBac line - Italian diploma and French baccalauréat, history in French from grade 3) and scienze umane. Cambridge option in Turismo: English taught with Cambridge methods in grades 1-4, Cambridge IGCSE English as a Second Language - optional exam at the start of grade 3, Cambridge IGCSE Travel and Tourism - exam at the start of grade 5; grade 5 follows the state curriculum. A week is 32 hours.
Address Via De Albertis 3, 21013 Gallarate (VA)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The Tourism track with a Cambridge option teaches English the Cambridge way, with IGCSE ESL early in year 3 and IGCSE Travel and Tourism early in year 5.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: One building on Via De Albertis: three computer labs, language, multimedia and science labs, new thematic labs for tourism, office 4.0 and communication, a classic and a digital library, an assembly hall, a gym and two small gyms; 130 computers and tablets in the labs and 59 interactive whiteboards and screens.
Clubs and activities: Erasmus+ · eTwinning · Transalp · Language Certifications
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers69
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The PTOF 2025-2028 lists 69 teachers. In the Relazioni Internazionali per il Marketing biennio German is reinforced through tutoring by school staff.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A reception programme for foreign students with an Italian course, peer tutors and mediators; the school notes strong expertise in including students with disabilities and learning difficulties, and universal design for learning.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data70 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country