Ranking · Italy · Rome
← Back to the ranking

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Statale "Gaetano De Sanctis"

Italy Rome, Italy · State
Illustration · Rome
72.6#115 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Statale «Gaetano De Sanctis» is a large state school in northern Rome, in Municipio XV, with five sites along via Cassia, from Ponte Milvio and the Fleming hill to Olgiata. Under one management there are three licei: liceo classico, liceo linguistico (English, French, Spanish) and liceo scientifico. Since April 2014 the school has been accredited by Cambridge, and each liceo has a Cambridge section where students prepare for Cambridge IGCSE exams in several subjects; the language liceo also offers the dual Italian-French ESABAC diploma and a combined Cambridge-ESABAC section. There is also a mathematics section of the science liceo, an A.U.R.E.U.S. art history section in the classical liceo and a biomedical course with Sapienza University. About 1950 teenagers aged 14-19 attend; the main language of instruction is Italian. The school leads the network of ESABAC schools in the Lazio region.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, Latin
Students
1952
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free. The Cambridge course is charged separately: according to the school's Cambridge document, which gives no year, 300 EUR a year, plus a 100 EUR voluntary contribution on enrolment (the same as in regular classes), Cambridge textbooks and exam fees.
Admissions Admission to first-year classes is through the national Iscrizioni online procedure; because of a shortage of classrooms the school has already had to turn down some applicants and limit the number of sections. The Cambridge section is chosen on enrolment. For students without Italian citizenship the school has a dedicated admission protocol, Italian as a second language courses and peer tutoring; recently arrived students receive individual support in Italian.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 liceo (classico, linguistico, scientifico). Italian state upper secondary curriculum, five years ending with the esame di Stato (maturità): liceo classico (with Cambridge and A.U.R.E.U.S. sections), liceo linguistico (English, French, Spanish; ESABAC, Cambridge and Cambridge-ESABAC sections; ESABAC gives the Italian diploma and the French baccalauréat), liceo scientifico (with Cambridge and liceo matematico sections), and a biomedical course with Sapienza since 2019-2020. Cambridge sections since 2014-2015: in the liceo classico and scientifico - IGCSE Mathematics, Geography, History, Chemistry or Biology, English as a Second Language, Latin; in the liceo linguistico - IGCSE Geography, Spanish, French, English as a Second Language, optionally Global Perspectives. Timetables from 2024-2025 add Travel & Tourism in the language section and optional Business & Management in years 3-4 of the classical and science sections. Cambridge subjects are taught in English by certified teachers or native speakers, usually one hour on top of the Italian timetable in years 1-2; IGCSE exams are held in June and November, with results in August and January.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Each of the three licei has a Cambridge section: IGCSE Mathematics, Geography, History, sciences, ESL and Latin in the classical and science licei, Geography, languages and Global Perspectives in the language liceo.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Model United Nations - IMUN and GCMUN · Web Radio and Podcasts · Debate · Theatre · School Newspaper · Certamen (classical languages competition) · Subject Olympiads

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers159
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school has 159 teachers and 37 administrative and technical staff; it notes a stable staff with a high share of permanent teachers, many holding language and IT certificates. Cambridge course subjects are taught by certified teachers or native English speakers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
There is a psychological counselling service supporting teachers and parents and a coaching and active listening service; the school belongs to the regional network of health-promoting schools. In December 2025 the institute council approved an internal code for preventing bullying and cyberbullying; there are civic education programmes against violence and on safety, and staff training in first aid and fire safety.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Convitto Nazionale di Stato "Tommaso Campanella"Reggio Calabria · 72.6Istituto Comprensivo Posatora Piano ArchiAncona · 72.6IS Ascanio SobreroCasale Monferrato · 72.6Licei Einstein Da VinciMolfetta · 72.6