Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

The International School of Choueifat - Dubai

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · est. 1993 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
71.6#60 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The International School of Choueifat - Dubai has been running since 1993 on Hessa Street in the Al Sufouh 2 area of Jumeirah and belongs to the SABIS network, teaching its own system from Pre-KG to grade 12. Grade 9 begins a four-year cycle to graduation in grade 12: on top of the SABIS high school diploma pupils prepare for the UAE national examinations and for external ones, and the school is itself a registered centre for administering them - the Cambridge IGCSE, AS Level and A Level, the American AP and SAT, and IELTS. From the senior years pupils are split into streams: its own fee sheets list grades 9 to 12 in Science and Arts versions. The campus covers 62,298 square metres: spacious classrooms with interactive whiteboards, large play areas, four computer labs, three science laboratories, a library and an auditorium with professional sound and lighting. The sports provision is extensive - a large air-conditioned multi-purpose sports hall, a gymnasium, a ballet studio, a semi-Olympic swimming pool, a grass football field, a basketball court, outdoor courts, car tracks for the youngest, playground equipment and indoor air-conditioned play areas. The distinctive feature is the Integrated Testing and Learning hall, a computerised centre where pupils sit exams and revise. There is a bright cafeteria where pupils can eat food brought from home or buy sandwiches and fruit. The kindergarten occupies a separate building with colourful corridors, a large playground, a pool of its own and an indoor multi-purpose hall. Dedicated nurses work on the campus.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · AP · Own programme
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
Admissions The admissions procedure is set out on the Admissions Policy and Admissions Process pages, the application goes through the school's own form, and the school invites families to book a visit. It names no grade requirements or entrance tests on the pages we read.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-KG - grade 12. The stages run straight through: early childhood, Pre-KG to KG2, in a separate building, then the lower, middle and high school. The high school is grades 9 to 12, a four-year cycle preparing pupils for the external university entrance examinations and for graduation in grade 12; from grade 9 pupils are split into Science and Arts streams.
Address Hessa Street, Al Sufouh 2, Jumeirah, P.O. Box 21935

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeSABIS · part of the networkMSA · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeSABIS · school is part of the network
The school belongs to the SABIS network and teaches its proprietary educational system; a network clears no threshold in our rating and stands in the card as a tie rather than as a check. The Cambridge entry from the registry is borne out by the school's own page: it is a registered centre for administering the IGCSE, AS Level and A Level examinations, and beyond those SAT, AP and IELTS. The leaving qualification is a double one: the SABIS high school diploma plus external examinations by choice and the UAE national examinations.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
SABISSABIS, a commercial education operator

Lebanese in origin, with more than seventy thousand pupils in twenty-one countries. It works in different ways: through its own schools, by running other people's under contract, and by simply selling the programme to a school that stays under its own management.

What the badge means for this school. The relationship is set out in a commercial contract. Under the licensing model SABIS neither owns nor runs the school at all: the badge means a package of programmes and methods was bought, not that anyone vouches for how the school works. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
MSAMiddle States Association of Colleges and Schools

One of the oldest American accreditations, working since 1887 in more than a hundred countries and linked to the Office of Overseas Schools of the US State Department. It judges the school as an institution across twelve areas, including finances, governance, premises and student support.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

Own programme

A programme written by the school or its operator, with no independent organisation behind it: the rules are written by the same people who teach to them. There is no outside register to check such a programme against.

What this means for this school. This does not mean the teaching is poor: it means the content can be judged only from the school's own account of it. What to look at here is something else - the accreditation of the school as a whole, and the outside exams its leavers sit.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus:

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
88
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
65
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Jumeirah CollegeDubai · 71.6GEMS Wellington Academy - Silicon OasisDubai · 71.6Raha International School, Gardens CampusAbu Dhabi · 71.6Ajman AcademyAjman · 71.5