Ranking · Italy · Naples
← Back to the ranking

The International School of Naples

Italy Naples, Italy · est. 1964 · Private
Illustration · Naples
71.1#193 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The International School of Naples (ISN) is a non-profit independent school founded in 1964 for students aged 3 to 18; it operates in Italy as a foreign school and is located in the former NATO base in Bagnoli. The curriculum follows US standards and leads to an American High School Diploma; upper grades offer Advanced Placement courses, and the school is an official AP and SAT test centre. The language of instruction is English, and all core subjects are taught by native speakers from the UK, the US, Canada, Australia and South Africa. Preschool and kindergarten follow the Montessori method. For Italian children and those with good Italian, elementary and middle school offer a parallel Italian state programme: at the end of the year they sit exams at a state school. Students include children of expats, NATO families and Italian families, with more than 15 nationalities among students and faculty. The school prepares students for US and European universities, including the Italian maturità and the Spanish Selectividad entrance exam.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
AP · Montessori · American programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Italian, Spanish, French
School website
Admissions Applications are accepted all year on a space-available basis, with no fixed deadlines, but some grades have limited places. Steps: inquiry form (through which the family receives information on programmes and fees), a personal visit or open day, online application, review of documents by the Admissions Committee and decision by the Head of School. The school does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, disability, sexual orientation or national origin. Children entering grade 2 and above have their English assessed and join the English as a Second Language programme if needed. Children with mild or moderate special needs are admitted after review of documents; the school does not have the resources for significant learning disabilities. The Italian programme admits students with adequate Italian, with entrance tests in mathematics and Italian from grade 3 of elementary to grade 3 of middle school.
Stages and year groups Grades Preschool, Kindergarten, 1-12. Early years follow the Montessori method: Preschool (ages 3-4) and Kindergarten (age 5). Elementary grades 1-5, middle 6-8, high 9-12 to US standards leading to a High School Diploma; Advanced Placement courses, and the school is an AP and SAT test centre. A parallel Italian state programme (Programma Ministeriale Italiano) in elementary and middle school for Italians and students with good Italian: idoneità and licenza exams are taken at state schools; students in this programme also study French and Spanish. Others take the Italian Host Nation course. Spanish in high school (levels A1-B2 on the Instituto Cervantes system), French as a three-year course. The school does not offer the IB.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

CIS · accreditationNEASC · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programme
An American curriculum in English with AP courses, Montessori in the early years and an optional parallel Italian state programme. The school is accredited by CIS. The school is accredited by NEASC. The College Board AP Course Ledger lists the school for 2025-2026.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges

An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

Montessori

The pedagogy of Maria Montessori: a child chooses the activity, works at their own pace with special materials, and mixed-age groups are arranged so that older children teach the younger ones. It is used most often in the nursery and primary stages.

What this means for this school. The name Montessori belongs to nobody: any school may call itself a Montessori school, and there is no single body that checks this. There are associations that train teachers and recognise schools, but membership of them is voluntary, and our entry means exactly that the school describes itself this way. This pedagogy has no leaving certificate, so what to look at is what the school finishes with.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Student Council · ISN Bulldogs · The ISN Art Fair and Workshop · Italy Reads
Source: isnaples.it

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: Most educators hold advanced degrees or have more than 20 years of teaching experience; core English-curriculum subjects are taught only by native speakers. Early years teachers are certified Montessori teachers with over 25 years of experience; Italian programme teachers are Italian school specialists.
The teachers pages present by name the English curriculum, special subjects and Italian programme teachers with their education and experience.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school commits to the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child and puts children's welfare first. The school psychologist offers counselling to students (with written consent of both parents), also available to parents and staff; the pastoral care and social emotional learning programme includes daily class meetings and anonymous voice boxes. A whistleblowing policy is published.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
75
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Convitto Nazionale Umberto ITurin · 71.1Istituto di Istruzione Secondaria Superiore «Carlo Urbani»Porto Sant Elpidio · 71.1Istituto d'Istruzione Superiore "Nicola Pizi"Palmi · 71.1Liceo Scientifico Statale MorgagniRome · 71.1