Ranking · Italy · Siena
← Back to the ranking

International School of Siena

Italy Siena, Italy · est. 2010 · Private
Illustration · Siena
75.3#45 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The International School of Siena is a private international day school in Siena for children aged 2 to 18, operating since 2010. It is authorised for all three IB programmes: the PYP in early years and primary, the MYP in middle school and the Diploma Programme in the final two grades. Teaching is in English; all students learn Italian to a high standard, plus Spanish, French and, where possible, their home language. Italian students also follow the Italian curriculum and sit the state examinations at the end of primary school and of scuola media (terza media); the school states that the IB Diploma has legal equivalence to the Italian maturità. Students come from Italy and abroad, with the school citing from 25 to almost 50 nationalities. The average IB Diploma score in 2026 was 36.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $12 868–23 815 a year
11 390–21 080 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Italian, Spanish, French
Registration fee
≈ $2 372
2 100 EUR
About the fees Annual fees for 2026-2027: Pre-Kindergarten and full-day Kindergarten 11390 EUR, Transition 12050 EUR, grades 1-2 15850 EUR, grades 3-4 16175 EUR, grade 5 16200 EUR, grade 6 17400 EUR, grades 7-8 17450 EUR, grade 9 17550 EUR, grades 10-11 18830 EUR, grades 12-13 21080 EUR. Payment in three instalments: 25% by 17 February 2026, 50% by 23 August 2026 and 25% by 1 December 2026. Fees include exercise books and stationery up to grade 5, insurance, medical service and day trips up to grade 11, and external IB examinations in grades 11-13. Bus service, swimming, ballet and other optional extras are not included.
Admissions Admission runs all year: an enquiry via the website form, a tour, a meeting with the Principal in person or online, then the application documents: form, birth certificate or passport, Italian residence permit (non-EU citizens only), school reports for the last two years, any special assessments, vaccination record, nulla osta from a previous Italian school, teacher recommendations. Decisions are based on reports, recommendations, the language profile, an interview with the Principal, a class visit and the CAT4 cognitive abilities test. Applicants to grades 7-9 are assessed by EAL teachers; grades 10-13 require age-appropriate English, and an English entrance test covering four skills may be set. The school offers limited support for mild learning difficulties and sometimes admits on a trial basis. The high school states directly that it welcomes foreign and Italian students.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-K, K, Transition, 1-13. IB PYP: Pre-Kindergarten (from age 2), Kindergarten (age 3), Transition (age 4), Grades 1-6 (ages 5-10); IB MYP: Grades 7-11 (ages 11-15); IB Diploma Programme: Grades 12-13 (ages 16-17). Alongside, the Italian curriculum: Italian students sit the end of primary examination and the esame di terza media in grade 9. In the Diploma Programme Italian students choose subjects so that the IB Diploma is recognised as equivalent to the esame di Stato; the school also mentions following the Italian programme instead of the IB DP to obtain the maturità. There are no Cambridge courses.
Address Via di Petriccio e Belriguardo 49/1, 53100 Siena

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeInspired · school is part of the network
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma programmes.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Inspiredschool network

Inspired Education Group is a private school group founded in 2013. The group gives different figures on its own pages - 125 schools on some, "more than 100" on others - and we quote both: choosing for a group which of its own numbers is correct is not something we do. Its schools are in Europe, Latin America, Africa, the Middle East and Southeast Asia, and some of them keep their own historic names, such as King's College in Madrid and Riga. The group's site is inspirededu.com.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
36 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma 2026: average score 36, highest score 42. The school cites a 100% pass rate in the terza media examination, an average score of 44 in the MYP eAssessment and 5.46 in the Personal Project. According to the ALPS system, the school is in the top 10% of IB schools worldwide for student progress.
Where leavers go: University of Bristol
The school says graduates go on to UK Russell Group universities, leading European institutions and US colleges, naming the University of Bristol. The school provides careers counselling, with partner consultants for US and UK applications.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: Visual Arts · Football · Performing Arts · Coding and Robotics · Multi-Sports · Martial Arts · Dance and Fitness · Italian Clubs · Duke of Edinburgh's Award · Choir · School Band
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
In summer students can attend residential camps supervised by teachers in Germany, Switzerland and Spain, with sport and language immersion; there is an exchange programme from 2 weeks to 1 year with boarding school or host family accommodation.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The website names the Principal, the Deputy Principal and the coordinators of the three IB programmes. Early years are taught by native English speakers and internationally trained tutors; the school mentions highly qualified teachers and specialists in English, French, Spanish, drama, dance, music and physical education.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Insurance and a medical service are included in fees up to grade 11. There is English language support; the school offers limited support for mild learning difficulties and asks parents to disclose special needs on application.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
60
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Polo Liceale Statale SaffoRoseto Degli Abruzzi · 75.2Liceo Scientifico Statale Galileo GalileiPerugia · 75.4Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Ettore MajoranaTurin · 75.5Convitto Nazionale «Principe di Napoli»Assisi · 75.5