← Back to homeIslamiya English School

Abu Dhabi, UAE · est. 1978 · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
Islamiya English School has worked in Abu Dhabi since 1978 and is not set up like an ordinary private school: it is a private NON-PROFIT institution run by a board of directors chaired by Khadija Darwish Alqubaisi, alongside an academic administration of a principal, a deputy and four heads of department. The curriculum is Cambridge: the school is recognised by Cambridge International Examinations for IGCSE examinations and for the International A Levels. Admission starts at FS2 - the school announces registration separately for FS2, Year 1 and Year 2, tied to the child's year of birth. It describes itself in a modest list: highly qualified teachers from around the world, an international syllabus, science laboratories, computer labs, a library with a large collection of books, playground facilities and "IES Clubs". What a parent needs to know: there are no fee figures on the site - the school posts its fee schedule and the ADEK approval letter as files - and it gives no list of clubs, no staff list and no support services at all.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admissions Registration is compulsory and comes before admission: the school announces it stage by stage - FS2 (KG1), Year 1 (KG2) and Year 2 (Grade 1) - tied to the child's year of birth. Registration instructions are posted on a separate page.
Stages and year groups Registration is announced for the FS2 (KG1), Year 1 (KG2) and Year 2 (Grade 1) stages; beyond that the school runs the Cambridge curriculum up to IGCSE and the International A Levels. It publishes no full grade-and-age structure.
Address Al Danah
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: Science laboratories for practical work, computer laboratories, a library with a large collection of books and playground facilities, including a primary playground; the gallery shows the reception area and the school library.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median68 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country