Istituto Cristo Re is a Catholic non-state school in Rome's Trieste-Salario district, founded in 1932 by the Brothers of the Sacred Heart (Fratelli del Sacro Cuore); today it is run by the Fondazione Cristo Re, a third-sector organisation. One complex houses a nursery (from 8 months), scuola dell'infanzia, scuola primaria, scuola secondaria di primo grado and two licei: liceo classico Cambridge and liceo scientifico Cambridge. The school describes itself as one of the first three in Italy to offer the whole Cambridge Pathway: Early Years in kindergarten, Cambridge Primary with Checkpoint in primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary in middle school and IGCSE exams in the liceo. Cambridge subjects are taught by teachers with certified English together with native speakers; the core curriculum is Italian and ends with the esame di Stato. Sport is strong: its own pool, pitches and tennis court, with swimming in the timetable.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · Early Years, Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
8 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Spanish, Latin
Admissions Admissions are handled by the Ufficio Ammissioni, which explains requirements and deadlines, collects and reviews applications and helps families with documents; a meeting with the coordinator of the relevant stage can be booked through the website form. For entry to the first class of the liceo classico Cambridge and liceo scientifico Cambridge the school recommends B1 English. The site does not publish separate rules for foreign students.
Stages and year groups Italian curriculum at every stage, with the licei ending in the esame di Stato, combined with the full Cambridge Pathway. Cambridge Early Years in kindergarten. Cambridge Primary: in classes 1-2 English as a Second Language 3 hours and Art and Design 2 hours per week, in classes 3-5 English as a Second Language 2 hours and Global Perspectives 2 hours, ending with Primary Checkpoint. Cambridge Lower Secondary in middle school: English as a Second Language, Science in English (CLIL), Global Perspectives, with Checkpoint at the end of class 3; Spanish as second language for all. Liceo classico Cambridge and liceo scientifico Cambridge: in classes 1-2 English as a Second Language 4 hours and Geography 2 hours with a native teacher, IGCSE exams at the end of class 2 or start of class 3; sciences 1 hour in English; Global Perspectives 60 hours a year from class 3, IGCSE exam at the end of class 4 or start of class 5; Spanish 1 hour. IGCSE exams are spread over the first four years to leave the fifth for the esame di Stato.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Early Years, Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary, Cambridge IGCSE. A full Cambridge pathway runs alongside the Italian curriculum: Primary and Lower Secondary with Checkpoint, then IGCSE English, geography and Global Perspectives at the licei.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Early Years (ages 3-6), Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Early Years is the nursery stage, ages 3 to 6. There are no exams at the end: the stage describes what the youngest children are taught and how, and it follows the Cambridge frame rather than a national nursery programme. Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Clubs and activities: English Lab - Cambridge FCE Certification · School Newspaper "Koinè" · Film and Theatre Pathways · Curricular Theatre · New Youth Games (school sports championships) · Living Art · Discovering Rome · Solidarity Projects · Coding · Academia Volley Cup
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
Summer camps in Oxford for middle school and liceo students; liceo students are also offered School-Work Experience placements and a year abroad in class 4.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: Cambridge subjects are taught by teachers whose language skills are certified by Cambridge, together with native English speakers.
The school states that Cambridge verified that the school and its teachers meet its requirements; each section has an academic coordinator, and subject departments have been set up.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a permanent psychological service room, an anti-bullying and cyberbullying department and coordinator, and works with the National Centre Against Bullying. The foundation has adopted an organisational model and a code of ethics; staff train in first aid and defibrillator use. On-site car parks are supervised.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median95 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country