Ranking · Italy · Monza
← Back to the ranking

Istituto Leone Dehon

Italy Monza, Italy · est. 1969 · Private
Illustration · Monza
69.0#304 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Istituto Leone Dehon is a private, state-recognised (paritaria) Christian upper secondary school in the historic centre of Monza. It is run by lay educators in the spirit of the values of the Dehonian Fathers; since 2016-2017 the school has been managed by a social enterprise. Its history begins with the Dehonian seminary, housed from 1946 in a former convent and noble villa; in 1969 its classical lyceum was opened to young people from Monza and Brianza. Today the school has four tracks: liceo classico, liceo delle scienze umane, a vocational institute for social and health services and, since 2017, a four-year international human sciences lyceum. Lessons are in Italian; in the four-year lyceum geography, part of history, part of mathematics and part of English are taught in English following Cambridge IGCSE syllabuses, and in the classical lyceum such courses are optional. The school emphasises foreign languages: English with a native speaker and preparation for Cambridge English exams up to C1, Spanish with DELE exams, and a Latin certificate.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Spanish, Latin
School website
About the fees The school charges fees; the retta is not published on the website. Families enrolling a child may apply to Regione Lombardia for a partial refund of tuition.
Admissions Enrolment is online via the form on the school website. Transfers from another school need a birth certificate, tax codes of the student and parents, vaccination record, parents' ID, the middle school's guidance recommendation (consiglio orientativo), release from the previous school, any certification of learning difficulties or disability, and a copy of the enrolment fee transfer. The school also accepts students from other schools and tracks, holding placement exams (colloqui di idoneità e integrativi) under state rules. Open days and presentation evenings are held for prospective students. Foreign students attend the school: Italian language courses are organised for them with the SLIM Italian language school in Monza.
Stages and year groups Italian upper secondary programme ending in the esame di Stato. Liceo classico (5 years; Latin, Greek, English with an extra hour with a native speaker, Academic English in year 5); liceo delle scienze umane (5 years); Istituto Professionale Servizi per la Sanità e l'Assistenza Sociale (5 years, vocational diploma, Spanish as second language); Liceo Internazionale Quadriennale - a four-year human sciences lyceum with a school year from 1 September to 30 June, Spanish in years 1-2, compulsory workshops and lessons in English. Cambridge IGCSE: in the four-year lyceum the whole class takes Geography, History, English as a Second Language and Mathematics in the curriculum, with Cambridge exams; in the liceo classico Geography and English as a Second Language are optional in years 1-2, and Mathematics, Latin and History in years 3-4.
Address Via Appiani 1, 20900 Monza (MB)

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. In the four-year international liceo the whole class takes IGCSE Geography, History, Mathematics and English as a Second Language in English; in the liceo classico IGCSE courses are optional.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Let's Go to the Theatre · FAI Apprentice Guides · Friends of Art · Informare - Telling the Story of Reality · School Sports Championships

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The website names the head, her deputy and the track coordinators. The extra English hour is taught by an experienced native speaker; Cambridge English exam courses are taught by native-speaker university lecturers. Each new teacher is assigned a mentor, and all staff follow a professional development plan and compulsory first aid and safety courses.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A pedagogical help desk for students runs all year, along with a counselling space and spiritual talks with the Dehonian Fathers. Individual plans are drawn up for students with disabilities and learning difficulties, and a support educator may join the class. Teachers, students and families sign an educational co-responsibility agreement; there are internal rules of conduct.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
73
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

International School BresciaBedizzole · 69Liceo Carlo BottaIvrea · 69Liceo Scientifico Statale Galileo GalileiSiena · 68.9Collegio Arcivescovile Alessandro VoltaLecco · 68.8