Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Jumeirah English Speaking School, Jumeirah

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · est. 1975 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
61.0#368 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

JESS Jumeirah is the first campus of the Jumeirah English Speaking School and its beginning: the school was created in 1975 in a building near the Deira Clock Tower and a year later, on a plot gifted by the Ruler of Dubai, Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum, moved into a villa in Jumeirah, where the campus grew. It started with seventeen children. The campus has remained a primary school and ends with Year 6; JESS's secondary school stands on the second campus at Arabian Ranches, and that is where a pupil moves. Fees are shared between the two campuses, so only the early years and primary blocks apply here. The school has a counselling service of its own.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $14 739–17 726 a year
54 129–65 097 AED
Programmes
being checked
Admits from
3 years
Languages
English
School website
Registration fee
≈ $136
500 AED
About the fees The annual fee is charged in blocks shared by both JESS campuses: 54,129 dirhams in Foundation 1 and 65,097 from Foundation 2 to Year 6, where the Jumeirah campus ends. It is paid in three termly instalments. On top of the fee there is a one-off non-refundable application fee of 500 dirhams. The school also operates debentures.
Stages and year groups Grades Foundation 1 from age 3 - Year 6. The Jumeirah campus is a primary school and ends with Year 6. JESS's secondary school and Sixth Form stand on the Arabian Ranches campus, and a pupil moves there.
Address PO Box 24942, Jumeirah

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

BSO · accreditation
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities

There is no data for this section yet.

Teaching staff

There is no data for this section yet.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a counselling service of its own - a separate section in the school life block alongside the sections on student wellbeing and on inclusion.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
60
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
65
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Aisha Bint Abu Baker Girls SchoolAbu Dhabi · 61Yas SchoolAbu Dhabi · 61Zayed Al Thani C3 Boys SchoolAbu Dhabi · 61Mleih School For GirlsAbu Dhabi · 61