Ranking · Hungary · Budapest
← Back to the ranking

Kőrösi Csoma Sándor Két Tanítási Nyelvű Baptista Gimnázium

Hungary Budapest, Hungary · est. 1958 · Private
Illustration · Budapest
71.7#16 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Kőrösi Csoma Sándor Két Tanítási Nyelvű Baptista Gimnázium is a church grammar school in Budapest's district III (Óbuda), run since 2013 by Baptista Szeretetszolgálat. The school occupies a building from 1909-1910; grammar school classes opened in 1958, when the school took the name of the orientalist Kőrösi Csoma Sándor. Bilingual teaching has run here since 1974, first Russian-Hungarian; until the mid-1980s it was the country's only két tanítási nyelvű grammar school, and the school says its Russian-Hungarian programme is still the only one in Hungary. German-Hungarian was added in 2001 and English-Hungarian in 2003. Today the school runs five-year bilingual programmes (English, German, Russian) with a preparatory language year and a four-year English-Hungarian programme; graduates take the érettségi. Since September 2017 the two-year IB Diploma Programme has run in parallel in English for grades 11-12, aimed above all at students planning to study abroad and at foreign students. For foreigners and Hungarian children returning from abroad there is the Kőrösi Magyar Iskola programme: Hungarian in the timetable, small groups and a mentor. The school has 75 teachers and hosts a BME language examination centre.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $6 214 a year
5 500 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Hungarian, English, German, Russian
Languages taught
French, Spanish
School website
Class size
19 students in each of the two IB classes; languages are taught in small groups
About the fees According to the school, the Hungarian bilingual programmes are free. The IB Diploma Programme charges tuition: from 2026-2027, 5500 euro a year, 11000 euro for the two years. The first year is paid on signing the contract after admission and the second at the start of the school year, by transfer to the school's euro account; families may ask the principal for instalments. The school has a scholarship programme for able students who cannot afford the IB.
Admissions The Hungarian programme admits grade 8 leavers through entrance exams: the central written exam in Hungarian and mathematics (applications through the KIFIR system) and an oral stage, with a maximum of 200 points. The five-year bilingual programmes require no prior language knowledge, with B1 required by the end of the preparatory year; the four-year English-Hungarian programme requires B2 English and a language assessment (waived with a B2 certificate). The school does not admit students with special educational needs (SNI). Transfers from other schools are possible up to grade 10: an average of at least 4.0, a motivation letter, an interview and a language check. The IB (grade 11) admits students through a written test of critical thinking and English writing, a presentation and an interview in English; C1 English, grade 9 and 10 reports, 15 hours of community service and grades of at least 4 in the chosen Higher Level subjects are required. The school states that the IB is intended among others for foreign students, and the Kőrösi Magyar Iskola programme is designed specifically for foreigners.
Stages and year groups Grades 9.Kny, 9-12; IB 11-12. Hungarian national grammar school programme with érettségi: five-year két tanítási nyelvű English-Hungarian, German-Hungarian and Russian-Hungarian programmes (first year with 18 hours of language a week; then history, civilisation and mathematics in the target language, plus geography, biology and chemistry in the English programme) and a four-year English-Hungarian programme. In grades 11-12 the IB Diploma Programme runs in parallel: all subjects except Hungarian literature and the second foreign language are in English. IB subjects: Hungarian literature, English language and literature, English B, German and Spanish (B and ab initio), history, economics, environmental systems and societies (ESS), psychology, biology, physics, chemistry, mathematics (Analysis and approaches), plus theory of knowledge, the Extended Essay and CAS; there is currently no arts subject.
Address 1033 Budapest, Szentendrei út 83. (III. kerület)

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programme
The IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school; it is taught in grades 11-12 as an English-language line alongside the Hungarian gymnasium programme and the érettségi exam.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school occupies a building from 1909-1910, now a listed monument, which has always housed a school. Every classroom has a projector and speakers, the library is being expanded and supplemented with an online library, and a new science laboratory was set up for the IB. With the maintainer's help the school bought the neighbouring building; the new wing, opened in 2018, has a smart classroom. The school puts its IB-related investment at 26 million forints. Hot lunches are ordered from a monthly menu, and special-diet meals are delivered separately. There is no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Kéktúra Klub (hiking club) · World Scholar's Cup felkészítő club (World Scholar's Cup preparation)
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
At the end of August the school takes new students to a three-day welcome camp, Gólyatábor, in Vajta. In winter there are ski camps for upper and lower grades and a separate alumni ski camp.
Source: korosi.hu

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers75
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The 2026-2027 work plan lists 75 teachers. Teachers include native speakers: an English lector and a Russian lector. A separate team teaches the IB, and the IB Diploma Programme has its own pedagogical lead.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school runs a mental health programme (Mentálhigiéné a Kőrösiben); counselling by the mental health specialist requires written parental consent. Together with the special education staff, this specialist keeps in contact with the child welfare service. The school has a code of ethics and rules on child protection online.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
64
Value for money (6%)
86
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

BME International Secondary Grammar SchoolBudapest · 71.5Tóth Árpád GimnáziumDebrecen · 71.5Österreichisch-Ungarische Europaschule BudapestBudapest · 72.1QSI International School of PápaPapa · 72.1