Kuopion Lyseon lukio is a city upper secondary school in the very heart of Kuopio, run by the City of Kuopio. The school traces its history to the Kuopio trivial school (1788-1843); the lyceum was founded in 1872, and when peruskoulu arrived in 1975 the old lyceum was split into a lower secondary school and Kuopion Lyseon lukio. Since autumn 1994 an IB line has run alongside the Finnish upper secondary school. According to the school's presentation it has about 500 students, about 80 of them on the IB line. Language of instruction: the Finnish upper secondary school teaches in Finnish (the applicant pages are in Finnish, and Finnish became the language of instruction as early as 1872), the IB line in English; in the preparatory year '18 courses are taught in English and 12 in Finnish'. The school says it values holistic education, honesty, responsibility, creativity and collaboration and practises a sustainable lifestyle.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Finnish, English
Languages taught
Swedish, French, German
About the fees The school writes: 'The school is run by the City of Kuopio and does not charge for tuition.' 'School meals are free.' 'Students have to purchase textbooks, some study materials and pay final exam fees.'
Admissions All applicants, including those for the IB preparatory year, apply through the spring joint application (yhteishaku) on Studyinfo (Opintopolku). The general line admits by the grade average of theoretical subjects in the peruskoulu final report, the IB line by an average with mother tongue, English and mathematics weighted; 'Skills in Mathematics, English (one or two exams) and Finnish (only for Finnish speakers) may be tested.' 'The annual intake is 30 students.' According to the school's presentation, the cut-off in spring 2021 was 8.83 for the general line and 8.47 for the IB. 'Some skills in Finnish are required if student's foreign language is not English'; 'Finnish language courses are compulsory for non-Finnish speakers.'
Stages and year groups Grades lukio 1-3; IB: pre-DP, DP1-DP2. Finnish upper secondary school (lukio) on the national curriculum with the ylioppilastutkinto examination (general line). The IB line runs alongside: a pre-DP year similar to the national programme, 30 courses (18 in English, 12 in Finnish), during which students choose 6 Diploma subjects; then the two-year IB Diploma Programme for students aged 16-19 with a 4000-word Extended Essay, Theory of Knowledge and CAS. Language A options are Finnish and English, other A languages are self-taught; French and German ab initio are taught through Finnish; subjects also include History, Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Swedish. No other IB programmes (PYP, MYP, CP) appear on the website.
Address Puijonkatu 18, 70110 Kuopio
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school; it runs as a separate English-language line with a preparatory year alongside the Finnish upper secondary programme and the ylioppilastutkinto matriculation exam.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Some sections of the school's website are closed to automated reading.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The main building on Kauppakatu, designed by Engel, was completed in 1826; extensions from 1875, 1888, 1915 and 1940 face Puijonkatu and Hallikatu; a thorough renovation was carried out in 1995 and the visual arts classroom was renewed in 2011. Biology, physics and chemistry laboratories, a language studio, a library and a reading room. School meals are free.
Teaching staff
Some sections of the school's website are closed to automated reading.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
According to the school's presentation, it shares counsellor (kuraattori) and psychologist services with other schools; peer tutors (omatutorit) support newcomers, and catch-up workshops help students complete missed assignments.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country