Ranking · Italy · Pescara
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Classico Statale «G. D'Annunzio»

Italy Pescara, Italy · est. 1930 · State
Illustration · Pescara
73.6#77 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Classico Statale Gabriele D'Annunzio is a state classical lyceum (liceo classico) in central Pescara for students aged 14-19. Its predecessor opened in 1924, and the lyceum itself was created as the Regio Liceo Ginnasio in 1930; since 1936 it has occupied a monumental building on Via Venezia. The five-year course follows the Italian national curriculum in Italian with Latin and Ancient Greek and ends with the esame di Stato (maturità). The school offers several tracks: traditional, Cambridge International, mathematics, biomedical, logic of new languages, a German option and the Liceo Classico Europeo with Spanish or German. In the Cambridge International track English and mathematics are reinforced, teachers are trained to Cambridge standards, and students sit IGCSE exams in years 3 and 4. According to school figures for the 2022-2023 school year, 1284 students attended in 57 classes; the PTOF lists 90 teachers.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Latin, German, Spanish
Students
1284
Class size
on average about 22-23 students per class
About the fees Tuition at this state lyceum is free. When completing enrolment for 2026-2027 families pay a voluntary school contribution of 100 EUR via Pago in Rete; the school notes that it is tax-deductible.
Admissions Admission to year 1 is through the state Iscrizioni online procedure (deadline at the end of January); families choose the track, including Cambridge International, when enrolling. In summer families of admitted students email the lower secondary school certificate with grade and competence certificate, the child's documents, forms and consents, and pay the voluntary contribution. The website says nothing about entrance tests for the Cambridge track or separate conditions for foreign children.
Stages and year groups Grades liceo classico 1-5, 57 classes. Italian state liceo classico curriculum, five years, ending with the esame di Stato (maturità). Tracks: traditional, Cambridge International, mathematics, biomedical, logic of new languages, German as a second foreign language, and the Liceo Classico Europeo (Spanish or German, six-day week). Cambridge course in the Cambridge International track: Cambridge IGCSE, exams in years 3 and 4; according to the PTOF these are English as a Second Language and Mathematics (the school adds one hour of mathematics a week and runs a study stay in Cirencester), plus reinforced Latin and preparation for Cambridge English exams up to C1. The track timetable has 4 hours of English in years 1-4 and 3 hours in year 5, mathematics 3+1 hours in years 1-2 and 2+1 hours in years 3-4. Of the 57 classes: 14 in year 1, 12 in year 2, 12 in year 3, 10 in year 4 and 9 in year 5 (2022-2023 school year).

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The Cambridge International track strengthens English and maths, with IGCSE exams in years 3 and 4 on top of the Italian state curriculum.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: A historic building on Via Venezia, built for the school in 1934-1935 and handed over in 1936, plus a branch site on Viale Bovio. Wi-Fi throughout, interactive monitors and laptops in every classroom, chemistry, physics, science, computing and multimedia labs, language labs, an assembly hall (Aula Magna), a library and Digital Humanities lab, a podcast studio and web TV studio, a video room, a renovated gym, a five-a-side pitch and outdoor basketball and volleyball courts, and a cafeteria. Some PE lessons take place in the Villa De Riseis park and at the Arena del Mare.
Clubs and activities: School Newspaper Editorial Team · Classical Languages Olympiad · Latin Certification · English, German, Spanish and French Certifications · Theatre Workshop · Podcast/Web TV Workshop · Once Upon a Time in Pescara (local history workshop) · Debate Championships · School Sports Championships

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers90
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The PTOF lists 90 teachers and 26 technical and administrative staff; most teachers are on permanent contracts. The Cambridge track is taught by teachers trained to Cambridge International standards; the team includes a Cambridge coordinator responsible for the programme and exams.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has an anti-bullying and anti-cyberbullying policy, a student supervision directive, bans on mobile phones and smoking, and guidelines on artificial intelligence for 2025-2026; the PTOF describes inclusion work with support teachers.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Tommaso SalviniRome · 73.6Liceo Scientifico Statale Cosimo De GiorgiLecce · 73.6Andersen International SchoolMilan · 73.5Istituto di Istruzione Superiore "Curie - Sraffa"Milan · 73.5