← Back to the rankingLiceo Classico e Linguistico Immanuel Kant

Rome, Italy · est. 1980 · State
Illustration · Rome
Liceo Immanuel Kant is a state classical and language liceo in eastern Rome, near the Villa de Santis park. It began in the early 1970s as a branch of another Rome liceo, became independent in 1980 and opened its language track in 1995. Today it offers the liceo classico (traditional, mathematics and a Cambridge section) and the liceo linguistico with four language combinations, including one with Chinese; from grade 3 one non-language subject is taught in a foreign language. Teaching is in Italian on the state curriculum with the esame di Stato. In the Cambridge section geography, biology, Global Perspectives and history are taught in English with native speakers, with IGCSE exams. According to the school's figures for 2023-2024 it has 1001 students and 106 teachers.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Spanish, French, German, Chinese, Latin
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free. For 2026-2027 the school asks for a voluntary donation of 80 EUR, including 6,50 EUR insurance, by 7 September 2026 via PagoInRete.
Admissions Enrolment in grade 1 follows the state procedure, after which families confirm it: for 2026-2027 from 1 to 17 July 2026, by email to the school with the application, the scuola media diploma with its mark, a copy of the student's ID and tax code and a vaccination certificate; a preferred classmate can be requested. Before enrolment the school offers open lesson days (Greek and Latin for the classical track, languages for the language track) and information sessions from October to February. The school does not describe separate selection for the Cambridge section.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year liceo on the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato. Liceo classico: traditional, Liceo Matematico and the Cambridge section. Liceo linguistico: English plus one of the pairs Spanish and French, Spanish and German, French and German, or Spanish and Chinese; from grade 3 one subject is taught through CLIL in a foreign language. Cambridge section of the classical liceo since 2017-2018: for students starting in 2024-2025, IGCSE Geography (2 hours in each of grades 1-2), IGCSE Biology (1 hour in grade 1, 2 hours in grade 2), IGCSE Global Perspectives (1 hour in each of grades 1-3), IGCSE History (1 hour in each of grades 3-4), preparation for the FCE language exam in grade 3 and CAE in grade 4; lessons with native speakers, partly co-taught with Italian teachers, with 2 extra hours a week in grades 1-2. IGCSE exams are taken at the end of grades 2 and 4.
Address Piazza Zambeccari 19, 00177 Roma (RM)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. In the Cambridge section of the classical liceo geography, biology, Global Perspectives and history are taught in English with native speakers, with IGCSE exams at the end of years 2 and 4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Sturm und Poetry - Poetry Slam · Kantiadi (school games) · Pi Day · Climate Speaks · Philosophy Olympiad · David di Donatello Youth Jury Award · English and German Certification Preparation Courses · Theatre Workshops
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers106
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
According to the school's figures for 2023-2024 the liceo has 106 teachers and 27 technical and administrative staff. The Cambridge section has native English-speaking teachers, mostly co-teaching with Italian teachers of related subjects; each class has a tutor teacher and a guidance teacher.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country