← Back to the rankingLiceo Classico e Musicale Empedocle

Agrigento, Italy · est. 1862 · State
Illustration · Agrigento
Liceo Classico e Musicale Empedocle is a state classical liceo in Agrigento with a music section. The ginnasio began teaching in January 1862, the liceo was established by royal decree in 1865, it has carried the name of the philosopher Empedocles since 1901, has been in its current building since the 1956-1957 school year, and since 2019-2020 has included the music liceo. Besides the standard classical course there are paths with a biomedical focus, modular profiles, enhanced mathematics and a Cambridge International School course. The course page describes it only in general terms - 'Cambridge Assessment International Education prepares students for life' - while the subjects are visible in the official textbook list: in classes marked as the CAMBRIDGE course, Cambridge IGCSE Mathematics, Biology and English as a Second Language textbooks are adopted for mathematics, natural sciences and English, as well as IGCSE History. There are 862 students in 40 classes. Teaching is in Italian, the Cambridge course subjects use English textbooks.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
About the fees A state liceo: tuition is free. The school does not state a fee for the Cambridge course or exams; families buy textbooks according to the class list.
Admissions Enrolment in the first year is through the national iscrizioni online system, as the Cambridge course page states. The school does not publish separate selection criteria for the Cambridge classes.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5, 40 classes. A five-year liceo classico: first two-year cycle (ginnasio), second two-year cycle and fifth year, plus the music liceo. The Cambridge course runs in separate classes: in the 2026-2027 textbook list they are marked as the first and second two-year cycle CAMBRIDGE, with Cambridge IGCSE Mathematics, IGCSE Biology, IGCSE English as a Second Language and IGCSE History textbooks adopted for mathematics, natural sciences and English. The school does not set out hours or exams.
Address Via Empedocle 169, 92100 Agrigento (AG)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: One building on via Empedocle, used by the liceo since the 1956-1957 school year; there is a computer room in the main building booked online and rooms for the computing profile equipped with PNRR funds.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country