Liceo G. Parini is a private Catholic liceo in Barzanò, in the province of Lecco. It was founded in 1979 by the parish priest Don Giuliano Sala together with a group of parents; since 2010 the school has been run by the foundation bearing his name. It started as a languages liceo, became a European liceo in 1993, has offered EsaBac since 2015, and in 2021-2022 added a social and economic sciences liceo (LES). The school is small: about 25 teachers, the languages liceo with one section and the LES with two. Lessons are in Italian, with some subjects taught in English through CLIL; in years 1-2 there are People Skills or Scuola d'Impresa and Public Speaking. Since 2022 the school has been a Pearson Edexcel centre running after-school preparation for two International A Level exams, and from 2026-2027 English as a Second Language and Global Citizenship in year 1 follow Pearson International GCSE syllabuses with an optional exam.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $5 536 a year
4 900 EUR
Programmes
Pearson Edexcel · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish, Latin
About the fees The fee for 2026-2027 (contributo scolastico, set by the foundation's board) is 4900 euros a year: a 500 euro deposit on enrolment (non-refundable), 400 euros by 30 June 2026 and four instalments of 1000 euros in September, December, January and April. Leaving the school after admission does not release the family from the annual fee. Families entitled to the Lombardy regional Dote Scuola have the amount recalculated.
Admissions Enrolment is through the school: an application to the coordinator choosing the track, the second language and the year 1-2 subject (Scuola d'Impresa or People Skills), with a 500 euro deposit. The school holds open days, online presentations and open lessons. The school names no entrance exams. The school hosts foreign students on exchange programmes together with the Rotary Club di Merate.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year liceo following the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato. Liceo linguistico: English, German and French or Spanish with native-speaker modules, Latin in years 1-2, CLIL (natural sciences and geography), EsaBac since 2015 (according to the PTOF). Liceo economico sociale (LES) since 2021-2022: law and economics, human sciences (anthropology, research methodology, psychology, sociology), English and French or Spanish, mathematics including economic mathematics. In years 1-2 of both tracks - People Skills (in English) or Scuola d'Impresa, and Public Speaking. Pearson Edexcel: from 2026-2027, International GCSE English as a Second Language and Global Citizenship in year 1 (a two-year course, optional exam); since 2022, after-school courses towards two International A Levels over the five years, 3 hours a week. IELTS preparation in years 4-5, DELE, DELF and Goethe-Zertifikat.
Address Via Garibaldi 20/A, 23891 Barzanò (LC)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Pearson · authorised programmeInstead of Cambridge, the school follows Pearson Edexcel: International GCSE English and Global Citizenship in years 1-2 and after-school preparation for two International A Levels. The Pearson register names the school as its centre, and it teaches Pearson Edexcel courses itself.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board
It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.
What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: One building on Via Garibaldi in Barzanò: every classroom has an internet-connected computer and a projector, some have interactive whiteboards, and there is Wi-Fi throughout; a multi-purpose room with digital devices, a study room and lab, a small library, and rooms for lessons with native-speaker teachers and support teachers. Four more classrooms are in the Paolo VI parish centre; physical education takes place in the Palazzetto Paolo VI sports hall, and theatre and cinema in the San Giuseppe hall, shared with the Barzanò parish. After lessons, four days a week from 14:15 to 16:15, the school is open for independent study with teachers. A paid school bus serves students from municipalities without public transport. Lessons start at 8:05.
Clubs and activities: DramaLab · Bookclub · Il Punto Esclamativo (school newspaper) · English For Kids · Communication Workshop · Open Afternoons · Student Coaching
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
The school offers interested students study weeks in France, Spain and Germany with host-family stays, accompanied by a teacher, and in 2026-2027 a study trip to Malta for year 4 in January or in summer. The school does not describe a separate summer camp.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers25
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school has 25 teachers, an academic coordinator and two secretarial staff; the website introduces teachers by name with their own words about their subject. Languages are taught by the school's teachers together with native speakers; an expert in international certificates joins the conversation lessons. Teachers regularly discuss each student to tailor teaching.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A psychologist works at the school permanently for students and teachers; there is a space for students with special educational needs, support teachers and educators, and study-skills coaching with the Cooperativa Compiti Point. A code of conduct, rules on violations and an educational agreement with families are in place.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country