Liceo Montessori is a state liceo in Rome with almost a century of history. Its predecessor, the Regia Scuola di metodo Montessori for training teachers in the Montessori method, opened in 1928, with Maria Montessori herself as its first director; in 1936 the fascist regime closed it, in 1964 it reopened as a state school and later became a liceo. It now runs liceo classico, liceo linguistico, liceo scientifico with applied sciences and economic and social tracks; 962 students attend in 46 classes in two buildings. Teaching is in Italian. The school offers enhanced programmes: a liceo classico with arts, a liceo linguistico for international relations with law and extra English, an economic and social track with an ecological focus and a liceo scientifico with a Cambridge IGCSE course in which mathematics, English and biology are taught partly in English with a native-speaker teacher. The school uses the subject-classroom model, keeps a small museum of Montessori materials, and takes part in Erasmus+ and many competitions.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, Latin
Class size
21 students per class on average
About the fees It is a state school and tuition is free. The school's private funds come mainly from voluntary family contributions at enrolment; the school states the contribution and any fee for the Cambridge course without amounts.
Admissions Enrolment in year 1 is through the national online procedure; the first two weeks of the year are a welcome programme for all classes. The site describes no separate selection for the Cambridge course or the enhanced programmes. Students from different countries attend; students without Italian citizenship most often choose the liceo scientifico and liceo linguistico; their number is growing and the school runs Italian as a second language courses for them. There is a procedure for high-level student athletes and rules for international student mobility.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year liceo following the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato. Tracks: liceo classico (enhanced artistico-filologico option), liceo linguistico (English, French, Spanish; enhanced option for international relations with an extra hour of law and of English in years 1-2), liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate (enhanced option with the Cambridge course) and liceo delle scienze umane opzione economico-sociale (with an ecological focus). Cambridge IGCSE course: Maths, English as a Second Language and Biology on integrated Italian and English syllabuses; some English, mathematics and science lessons in years 1-3 are co-taught with a native-speaker teacher, plus extracurricular hours with a native speaker (English as a second language 2, 2 and 1 hours in years 1-3, mathematics 1 hour in years 1-2, biology 1 hour in year 3); IGCSE exams in all three subjects, sessions in May-June and October-November. There is no AS and A Level course.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. In the Cambridge applied sciences liceo, English, maths and biology in years 1-3 are partly taught with a native speaker, leading to IGCSE exams in all three.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Mathematics & Reality · Chemistry Games · Physics Championships · Informatics Championships · Philosophy Championships · Italian Cybersecurity Olympiad · Astronomy Championship · Debate · Modern Greek Language and Culture Course · INDA - Introduction to Ancient Drama · Erasmus+ · eTwinning · Montessori Magazine "La tua voce" (school magazine) · More Sporty, More Active - Outdoor Sports
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers70
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school has 70 teachers and 25 technical and administrative staff. Cambridge course subjects are taught by Italian teachers together with native English-speaking teachers. Teachers receive training in inclusion and active teaching methods.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
A psychological counselling service (Sportello Ascolto) runs with support from the Lazio region; there is a section on bullying and cyberbullying, a whistleblowing procedure, a procedure for students with life-saving medicines, school regulations, a welcome programme for year 1 students and an inclusion working group. The buildings meet accessibility standards and have fire doors and fire escapes.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country