Ranking · Italy · Turin
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Statale Regina Margherita

Italy Turin, Italy · est. 1933 · State
Illustration · Turin
70.0#258 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Regina Margherita is a large state liceo in Turin that grew out of the city's second teacher training college, founded in 1933. In 1986 it opened the first liceo linguistico in a Turin state school, and in 1995 an international liceo linguistico with Spanish under an agreement with Spain. Today it runs a liceo delle scienze umane, an economic and social liceo (the school leads the national network of such licei), a liceo linguistico including the double Italian and French ESABAC diploma and a Spanish international section, and evening courses for adults; 1486 students attend in 70 classes in three buildings. Teaching is in Italian. Since 2022 the economic and social liceo, and since 2023 the liceo linguistico, have had Cambridge sections with an English entry test: Global Perspectives, English as a second language, English literature and art and design to IGCSE syllabuses.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, German, Latin
Students
1486
Class size
21 students per class on average
About the fees It is a state school and tuition is free. The voluntary family contribution covers insurance, the entry pass, photocopies and the electronic register, and supplements insufficient state funding: technology, labs, gyms, catch-up courses, debate, language certificates, psychological support and help for low-income families with trips. The school states the contribution and any fee for the Cambridge sections without amounts.
Admissions Enrolment in year 1 is through the national online procedure in January. If there are more applicants than places, the school ranks applications by points: a family move from another country, region or city (10 points), the year 2 middle school average (up to 8), the middle school recommendation (up to 2), A2-B2 language certificates (2-6), residence in nearby Turin districts or neighbouring municipalities, and a sibling at the school. The Cambridge sections of the economic and social and linguistic licei admit students on the results of an English entry test, with a minimum of 60% and a ranking. After the deadline families can join a waiting list. Transfers from other schools involve an interview and exams for years 2-4. The school has a significant share of foreign students and runs welcome and intercultural exchange programmes for them.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year liceo following the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato. Tracks: liceo delle scienze umane (with Latin and a philosophy workshop), liceo delle scienze umane opzione economico-sociale (standard, Cambridge and, from 2025-2026, the SDIA option in data science and artificial intelligence), liceo linguistico (English and French, with Spanish or German as the third language; ESABAC and ESABAC Plus with a double diploma; Cambridge), Liceo Linguistico Internazionale ad opzione spagnola (Spanish with native speakers, history and geography in Spanish, a diploma equivalent to the Spanish Título de Bachiller), and an evening economic and social liceo for adults. Cambridge section of the economic and social liceo (since 2022-2023): 2 extra hours of English in year 1, from year 2 IGCSE Global Perspectives (one hour a week in years 2-4, in English) and English as a Second Language (2 hours in years 2-4), exams in years 3-4, law and economics taught through CLIL in years 4-5. Cambridge section of the liceo linguistico (since 2023-2024): 5 hours of English a week for all five years, English as a Second Language IGCSE from year 2, Literature in English IGCSE and Art & Design IGCSE in years 3-4, CLIL modules in history and geography from year 1 and in biology and art from year 3. There is no AS and A Level course.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Cambridge sections with an entry test: the social sciences liceo takes IGCSE Global Perspectives and English, the languages liceo takes English, Literature in English and Art & Design.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Debate Club · School Newspaper · Erasmus+ · Study Trips and Stays Abroad · English, French and Spanish Language Blog · Language Certification Preparation

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
In the language tracks a native speaker teaches one lesson a week; in the Spanish international section Spanish is taught by native speakers, and law, art and science lessons are co-taught with the English teacher. The school leads the national network of economic and social licei and runs teacher training. The school does not publish the number of teachers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
Voluntary contributions fund a psychological support service for students and families. The school trains students and parents on bullying and cyberbullying, runs health projects, a welcome programme for year 1, an inclusion plan for 2025-2028, a whistleblowing procedure and Carriera Alias for students changing their name.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
76
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

First Campus BergamoBergamo · 70Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Savoia BenincasaAncona · 70Istituto Paritario Gesù-MariaRome · 70Istituto La SalaAversa · 70