Ranking · Italy · Rome
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Scientifico Statale Aristotele

Italy Rome, Italy · State
Illustration · Rome
73.0#95 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Aristotele is a state scientific liceo in southern Rome, in Municipio IX. It opened in the 1980s as a small neighbourhood school in the Giuliano-Dalmata quarter, built for refugees from Istria and Dalmatia, and has grown into a liceo of about 1200 students from many districts, from Piazza dei Navigatori to Trigoria, Torrino and Mezzocammino. It uses three buildings. All classes follow the liceo scientifico curriculum and sit the common esame di Stato; in addition there are two tracks: a Cambridge course (since 2014, when the liceo became a Cambridge school) and the Liceo Matematico with the mathematics and physics department of Roma Tre University. Lessons are taught in Italian; in the Cambridge section mathematics and geography in grades 1-2 are also taught in English with a native speaker, and English rises to five hours a week in grades 1-4. The liceo prepares students for language exams in English, French and Spanish and takes part in Erasmus+, mathematics olympiads, Model United Nations and the Juvenes Translatores translation contest.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Latin, French, Spanish
Students
about 1200
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free. The school council suggests a voluntary contribution of 90 EUR a year. For the Cambridge course families pay a separate contribution in two instalments, by the end of November and the end of February: according to the 2019 guide 300 EUR in grade 1, 360 EUR in grade 2 and 240 EUR in grade 3; no year is given for the rate; exams are paid only by those who sit them. Families with an ISEE below 15000 EUR can receive full or partial scholarships towards the Cambridge contribution, up to 2500 EUR a year in total.
Admissions Grade 1 enrolment follows the state online procedure (Iscrizioni on-line), in January. If applications exceed places, the liceo ranks them by points: living in Municipio IX or VIII or a parent working there, the liceo as first choice, siblings of students, the lower secondary school's guidance advice; ties are settled by public draw. For the Cambridge and Liceo Matematico sections, if oversubscribed, selection is by guidance advice and the English (or mathematics) mark for the first term of year 3 of lower secondary. For 2026-2027 the liceo accepted all applications, including to the Cambridge section; selection was needed only for the Liceo Matematico. The Cambridge course guide states every student's right to attend the chosen track without limits of nationality or income.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year liceo scientifico on the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato; two additional tracks - the Cambridge course (C.A.I.E., Cambridge IGCSE) and the Liceo Matematico (an extra hour of mathematics and physics in grades 1-2 and 40 hours of labs a year in grades 3-5). Cambridge course: Mathematics and Geography in grades 1-2, one hour a week with a native-speaker teacher, the IGCSE mathematics exam in May of grade 2 and geography in November of grade 3; English as a Second Language - one hour a week with a native speaker in grades 1-3 plus two hours outside the timetable, exam in grade 4; Physics - optional, in the afternoon in grades 3-4, with lab work in small groups, exam in May of grade 4. The Cambridge section has five hours of English a week in grades 1-4, three of them with a native speaker. A passed IGCSE exam earns school credit. The Art and Design - Photography course has been suspended since 2019.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The Cambridge section of the science lyceum covers Mathematics and Geography with a native speaker in years 1-2, English in years 1-3 and optional Physics in years 3-4, with IGCSE exams in years 2-4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The Cambridge course guide gives IGCSE results for 2016-2017: Mathematics, June 2016 - 7 A*, 17 A, 19 B, 18 C, 3 D, 3 E, 1 U; Geography, November 2016 - 1 A*, 6 A, 12 B, 20 C, 21 D, 2 E; Mathematics, June 2017 - 2 A*, 13 A, 19 B, 13 C, 3 D, 1 E, 1 U. No newer results appear on the website.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: I-MUN · Mathematics Olympiad · Italian Language Olympiad · Erasmus+ (international exchanges) · Cultural Exchange with Płock · Juvenes Translatores · United in Diversity · Robotica (robotics) · Painting Workshop · First Aid and BLS · School Sports Championships · Cambridge PET, FCE, CAE, CPE Certifications · DELF and DELE Certifications

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
According to the PTOF about 80% of teachers are permanent staff and the staff is stable. Cambridge subjects are taught by the liceo's permanent teachers with certified B2 English and experience teaching the subject in Italian, together with native-speaker teachers; teachers take Cambridge training, including abroad through Erasmus+. The school does not give the number of teachers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
There is a psychological counselling service. An inclusion committee coordinates support for students with special educational needs and learning difficulties; there is home tuition for seriously ill students, a protocol for study abroad, trip rules with a commitment agreement and a safety section.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Scuole del Sacro Cuore CesenaCesena · 73Istituto Sant'AnnaTurin · 73I.I.S. «Emilio Alessandrini»Montesilvano · 73Liceo Scientifico Statale «Amedeo Avogadro»Rome · 73