← Back to the rankingLiceo Scientifico Gaetano Salvemini

Sorrento, Italy · est. 1970 · State
Illustration · Sorrento
Liceo Gaetano Salvemini is a state scientific and linguistic liceo in Sorrento. It opened in 1970 as a branch of a liceo from Castellammare di Stabia in the former seminary on Via Sersale and became independent in 1975-1976; since the mid-1990s its main building has been on Via Sant'Antonio. In 2023-2024 it had 1077 students in 48 classes. Tracks: liceo scientifico, liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate, a scientific liceo with a biomedical profile and liceo linguistico, plus Cambridge sections. Lessons are taught in Italian. Since 2015-2016 the school has been accredited as a Cambridge International School: in the Cambridge sections some subjects follow Cambridge syllabuses in English together with native-speaker teachers, at least two extra hours of English a week are added, and students sit IGCSE exams. The liceo runs an exchange with St. Joseph school in New Jersey, takes part in Erasmus+ and eTwinning, organises study stays abroad and a year abroad in grade 4.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
French, German, Spanish, Latin
About the fees The school is a state school and tuition is free. Families pay voluntary contributions; students in the Cambridge sections pay a contribution set by the school council - the school mentions the course surcharge without an amount.
Admissions Grade 1 enrolment follows the state online procedure. The website does not describe a selection for the Cambridge sections; students in these sections pay a contribution set by the school council. According to the PTOF the school has students with non-Italian citizenship, though their share is below average.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-5 scuola secondaria di secondo grado. Five-year liceo on the Italian curriculum with the esame di Stato. Tracks: liceo scientifico, liceo scientifico opzione scienze applicate, a scientific liceo with a biomedical profile and liceo linguistico (English, French, German or Spanish, 33 hours a year with native speakers). Cambridge sections in the scientific, applied sciences and linguistic licei: in grades 1-2 English as a Second Language and Geography; in grades 3-4 Biology and Literature in English in the scientific liceo, Computer Science and Literature in English in applied sciences, History and Literature in English in the linguistic liceo. Subjects are taught by the school's teachers together with native speakers, with at least two extra hours of English a week; IGCSE exams at the end of grades 2, 3 and 4.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. Cambridge sections take English as a Second Language and Geography in years 1-2, then biology, computer science or history plus Literature in English in years 3-4, with IGCSE exams in years 2-4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Makerspace
Campus: Two buildings five minutes' walk apart: the main one on Via Sant'Antonio, a former lower secondary school, used since 1995-1996, and the historic former seminary on Via Sersale, founded in 1657. Both have ramps or lifts; every classroom has an interactive board and a computer. According to the PTOF there are drawing, physics, photography, computing, language, multimedia, science and robotics labs, an assembly hall, a gym, a five-a-side pitch and two outdoor basketball and volleyball courts. The school itself writes of a chronic lack of space.
Clubs and activities: From Sorrento to New York (US school exchange) · Erasmus+ Youth in Action · eTwinning · Fourth Year Abroad · Study Trips Abroad
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
Cambridge subjects are taught by suitably trained Italian teachers together with native English-speaking teachers; for 2026-2027 the school is recruiting native speakers for 18 hours a week. The linguistic liceo has 33 hours a year with native speakers. The school does not publish staff numbers.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A counselling desk serves students and families, with individual sessions one day a week. Both buildings have external fire escapes, panic doors, ramps or lifts.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data73 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country