Ranking · Italy · Maglie
← Back to the ranking

Liceo Scientifico «Leonardo da Vinci»

Italy Maglie, Italy · est. 1973 · State
Illustration · Maglie
73.0#95 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liceo Scientifico Leonardo da Vinci is a state science liceo in Maglie, in southern Salento, independent since the 1973-1974 school year. About 1000 students in 42 classes come from 61 municipalities of central and southern Salento; only 12% are from Maglie itself. Lessons are in Italian under the state curriculum, over five years (four in the four-year liceo), ending with the esame di Stato. Tracks: traditional science liceo with Latin, applied sciences, mathematics liceo, the four-year Da Vinci 4.0 liceo and, according to the PTOF, a Cambridge International section (since 2021-2022), a biomedical biology course, and sports and economics-environment options. In the Cambridge section an hour a week with a native speaker is added to mathematics, physics and English to prepare for IGCSE exams. Students regularly win national olympiads in mathematics, physics and biomedicine, and the liceo runs its own physics and mathematics Certamen.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
14 years
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Latin
Students
about 1000
About the fees Tuition at the state liceo is free. The PTOF description of the Cambridge section contains no extra charge for the course and no IGCSE exam fees.
Admissions Enrolment in the first year is through the state online procedure on the ministry website in January; the application names the liceo and the track by code (traditional science liceo LI02). Open days and guidance meetings are held for prospective students. The website describes no selection for the Cambridge section. There are few foreign students: the PTOF mentions two students with foreign citizenship and students coming on Intercultura exchanges.
Stages and year groups Italian state liceo scientifico curriculum, 5 years, ending with the esame di Stato. Tracks: traditional science liceo, applied sciences, mathematics liceo (since 2022-2023), the four-year Da Vinci 4.0 liceo (since 2022-2023), biomedical biology, and sports and 3E (environment, economics, equity) options since 2023-2024. Cambridge International, according to the PTOF 2022-2025: in the Cambridge section since 2021-2022, IGCSE Mathematics International, IGCSE Physics and IGCSE English as a Second Language, an extra hour of mathematics, physics and English in years 1-4, taught by a liceo teacher with advanced English and a native speaker; 30 hours a week in years 1-2, 33 in years 3-4; IGCSE exams at the end of year 3 or 4 depending on the student's readiness, marked by Cambridge. The PTOF 2025-2028 mentions the Cambridge International track in one line, and the website's track page does not currently list it.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The Cambridge section of the science liceo adds an extra hour of maths, physics and English with a native speaker in years 1-4, leading to IGCSE exams in year 3 or 4.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Makerspace
Campus: Since the 1998-1999 school year the liceo has occupied the building on Via Gentile: spacious, bright classrooms, science, physics and computer labs, a library with a reading room (8334 volumes, video library), a large gym, outdoor space and an auditorium with videoconferencing; a second wing was added in 2008-2009. The whole building is networked, with Wi-Fi through 55 access points and interactive boards in every classroom. There is an astronomy lab with telescopes and a mobile planetarium with an inflatable dome for 20-25 people, and labs funded by the PNRR: a data analysis, virtual reality and robotics lab with 26 workstations and a humanities lab with laptops for Autocad, a scanner and a 3D printer. The branch on Via Fratelli Piccinno has no labs or gym: classes are bussed to the main building for PE.
Clubs and activities: Da Vinci Orchestra · Theatre Workshop · Journalistic Writing Workshop · CISCO Networking Academy · Sports Club · Leonardo da Vinci Physics and Mathematics Certamen · Mathematics, Physics and Biomedicine Olympiads · Piano Lauree Scientifiche (university science outreach programme) · Erasmus+ (international exchanges)

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers74
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The liceo has 74 teachers and 98 staff in all; the PTOF describes the teaching staff as stable. In the Cambridge section subjects are taught by liceo teachers with advanced English together with native-speaker mathematics and physics specialists; language exam courses are taught by native speakers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
A counselling service (sportello d'ascolto) for students, parents and teachers uses a systemic counselling approach. The liceo is part of a school network for preventing cyberbullying with the Morvillo-Falcone institute and runs catch-up courses, peer support and study clinics.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Scuole del Sacro Cuore CesenaCesena · 73Istituto Sant'AnnaTurin · 73I.I.S. «Emilio Alessandrini»Montesilvano · 73Liceo Scientifico Statale «Amedeo Avogadro»Rome · 73