Lycée Stendhal de Milan is a French school in Milan directly managed by AEFE, the agency for French education abroad. Its history began in 1948 with classes for children of French executives at the French Chamber of Commerce; in 1959 the city granted the Via Laveno site for building a lycée, and in 2004-2006 the school moved into new buildings on the same site. Today it has about 1155 students of 25 nationalities, mostly French and Italian, from petite section maternelle to terminale. Teaching is in French under the curriculum of the French Ministry of Education. Italian is compulsory for all at every stage, English is taught from petite section, German or Spanish is added from 5e, and Latin is available. In the lycée students can earn the ESABAC double diploma (baccalauréat and esame di Stato) or the Baccalauréat Français International with the American option; the school also prepares for the Italian Idoneità exam in CM2 and the Terza Media exam.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $6 507–9 207 a year
5 760–8 150 EUR
Programmes
French programme · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
French, English
Languages taught
Italian, German, Spanish, Latin
Registration fee
≈ $2 034
1 800 EUR
About the fees Annual tuition for 2026-2027: maternelle 5760 euros, élémentaire 5950 euros, collège 7210 euros, lycée 8150 euros. Discounts for the third and subsequent children are 6%, 13%, 18% and 20%.
Admissions The school admits students from maternelle to lycée on the basis of a file: first an online pre-registration form with documents of the child and parents, a certificate from the current school, reports for the previous and current year, a motivation letter if needed and a vaccination record. Pre-registration does not guarantee a place, and the school makes the decision; if accepted, the family pays a non-refundable first registration fee. Petite section admits children from age 3; the school advises enrolling non-French-speaking children in petite section. Newcomers without Italian receive a separate Italian course in collège. Admission to the BFI American option is by video, interview and written exam, requiring B2 English; ESABAC requires A2-B1 Italian. Children of 25 nationalities attend.
Stages and year groups Grades Petite section - terminale (maternelle, élémentaire CP-CM2, collège 6e-3e, lycée seconde - terminale). French national curriculum: maternelle (petite, moyenne, grande section - ages 3, 4, 5), élémentaire (CP-CM2), collège (6e-3e, diplôme national du brevet), lycée (seconde, première, terminale, baccalauréat). ESABAC over the three lycée years: Italian language and literature and history-geography taught in Italian, double diploma baccalauréat and esame di Stato. Baccalauréat Français International, American option, in première and terminale: in-depth American culture and language, history-geography in English, a knowledge of the world course. Preparation for the Italian Idoneità (CM2) and Terza Media exams (optional, plus two hours a week of Italian, history and mathematics).
Address Via Laveno 12, 20148 Milano
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
AEFE · accreditationAEFE runs the school directly (établissement en gestion directe): the curriculum is French and recognised by the French education ministry.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
AEFEAgency for French Education Abroad
It runs the network of French schools worldwide, while the accreditation itself, the homologation, is granted by the French education ministry and inspected by French state inspectors. A leaver from a homologated school moves into a school in France without an entrance examination. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →French programme
The state programme of France. A school is homologated by the French ministry of education, and a leaver may move into a school in France without entrance tests. Homologation is granted stage by stage, so it sometimes covers only part of the year groups.
What this means for this school. Which year groups of this school are covered by homologation - only the primary ones, or all the way to the final year - is not stated here. The difference matters: it decides whether the school takes a child through to the French baccalaureate or hands them on to another school halfway.
National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Clubs and activities: Web Radio · Le MéDiA (digital school newspaper) · After-School Activity Centre
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: The qualifications of teaching and education staff from maternelle to baccalauréat are attested by high-level French competitive exams (professeurs des écoles, professeurs des lycées et collèges); in maternelle teachers are assisted by assistants.
The school does not publish teacher numbers or class sizes. From 6e every class has a lead teacher who is the main contact for students and families; guidance is handled by two careers specialists and a guidance psychologist from AEFE and the Grenoble academy.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a nurse, who also advises families on meals for allergies. A guidance psychologist visits from AEFE and the Grenoble academy. Primary children in childcare are released only to a named adult who signs them out.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data67 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country