← Back to the rankingMälardalen International School

Vasteras, Sweden · est. 2022 · Private
Illustration · Vasteras
Mälardalen International School (MISV) is a private fee-paying international school in Västerås for children aged 5 to 16, opened in January 2022 in the Finnslätten area. The school runs IB programmes: the PYP for ages 5-11 (authorised in November 2024) and the MYP for ages 12-16 (authorised in January 2025), and says it is the only IB World School with both programmes in the region. English is the school's internal working language, and students also learn the Swedish language and culture. Students of 23 nationalities speaking 26 languages attend, and all teaching staff, the school says, are internationally experienced in the IB. The school was founded by Industritekniska Gymnasiet AB's owner Fredrik Svensson in collaboration with business partners, including Hitachi, and Västerås municipality. The school ends at age 16; the MYP, it says, prepares students for the Diploma Programme.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $4 985–5 982 a year
50 000–60 000 SEK
Languages of instruction
English
About the fees Fees for the 2026-2027 academic year for the first child: PYP 50000 SEK per year (25000 per term), MYP 60000 SEK per year (30000 per term). The second child pays half (25000 and 30000 SEK), the third a quarter (12500 and 15000 SEK), and the fourth attends free. Fees include all learning materials, daily lunch and snacks, and excursions.
Admissions The school says it is open for everyone. Families apply through a form on the site giving the child's details, English level (from beginner to mother tongue), preferred start date, previous school and curriculum; the school then schedules an initial interview with a member of the Pedagogical Leadership Team, in person or online. To enrol, the child must turn 5 under Swedish regulations; in PYP1 (ages 5-6) the child must use the toilet independently, take part in class learning and move between learning environments with the class. Withholding or providing inaccurate information may cost the place. The site does not state other requirements (priorities, documents, nationality).
Stages and year groups Grades PYP1-6, MYP1-5. IB World School: Primary Years Programme for ages 5-11 (six subject areas: language, social studies, mathematics, arts, science, personal, social and physical education), authorised in November 2024; Middle Years Programme for ages 12-16, authorised in January 2025. According to the staff list, MYP subjects include language and literature, design, mathematics, physical and health education, science, individuals and societies, the community project and service as action, visual and performing arts, Swedish and Swedish language acquisition, and English as an additional language. The site does not mention the Swedish national curriculum. There is no Diploma Programme.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Primary Years and Middle Years programmes.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school has operated since January 2022 in the Finnslätten area of Västerås. Students are served lunch every day with salad and bread; fruit and snacks are included in the fee, as are all learning materials and excursions. After-school care (fritids) for children up to age 12 is invoiced separately through the City of Västerås. It is a day school with no boarding.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: all teaching staff internationally experienced in the IB
The school says all its teaching staff are internationally experienced in the IB. The site publishes a staff list by name: head of school, IB coordinator for PYP and MYP, PYP class teachers, MYP subject teachers, Swedish teachers, an EAL and student support teacher, the after-school coordinator and educators, a school nurse and a school counsellor.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a school nurse, a school counsellor and student support staff; students set behaviour rules together as Essential Agreements. The school says all members of its community are respected and valued for their differences; there is a feedback and complaints procedure.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country