Ranking · Italy · Milan
← Back to the ranking

MILE Bilingual School

Italy Milan, Italy · est. 2003 · Private
Illustration · Milan
75.6#39 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

MILE Bilingual School is a private bilingual school in Milan for children from 11 months to 14 years: asilo nido, scuola dell'infanzia, scuola primaria and scuola media. It grew out of the Les Galipettes nursery opened in 2003-2005; the primary school opened in 2009-2010, the middle school in 2013, and since 2014 the school has occupied its current campus in San Cristoforo. The primary and middle schools are paritaria: the Italian part of the curriculum is recognised by the Ministry, while the English part follows Cambridge programmes (Early Years, Primary, Lower Secondary). Teaching is bilingual from day one, with some subjects in Italian and some in English; a third language is added from primary. Pupils sit the Italian INVALSI tests and Cambridge Checkpoint, scoring above Italian and Lombardy averages in 2025.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $12 811–15 082 a year
11 340–13 350 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · Early Years, Primary, Lower Secondary · National programme
Admits from
11 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Italian, English
Languages taught
Spanish, French, Chinese, German
School website
Class size
Classes are small; the school gives no exact number
Registration fee
≈ $282
250 EUR
About the fees The school already publishes fees for the 2027-2028 school year (10 months, 8:00 to 16:00, paid annually or in four instalments): asilo nido 11340 EUR a year, scuola dell'infanzia 11420 EUR, primary Grades 1-3 11970 EUR, Grades 4-5 12700 EUR, middle school Years 1-2 13275 EUR, Year 3 13350 EUR. Fees for 2026-2027 are not on the website. Compulsory meals cost 1280 EUR a year in nido and scuola dell'infanzia and 1330 EUR in primary and middle school; compulsory laptop rental from Grade 3 is 260 EUR; after-school care from 16:00 to 18:30 is on request.
Admissions Enrolment is open all year. Steps: an enquiry form, a personal campus tour, a video call with the Head of Admissions (from Grade 2 a copy of the latest report card), an assessment with the coordinator of the relevant stage with feedback to parents within 48 hours, then an offer and paperwork. Most new pupils take an entry test in English and Italian (from Grade 2 of primary, 250 EUR). Required documents are the child's and parent's ID, previous report cards, vaccination records and proof of residence. The school says it admits pupils regardless of race, religion or nationality; prior knowledge of English or Italian is not required, with support programmes in English and Italian as additional languages for newcomers. Admission depends on available places; siblings of current pupils may receive special consideration.
Stages and year groups The Italian national curriculum (primary and middle school are paritaria, the middle school ends with the esame di Stato del primo ciclo) combined with Cambridge programmes: Early Years in nido and scuola dell'infanzia (accredited in 2024), Cambridge Primary in primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary in middle school. Cambridge: confirmed - in primary English, Mathematics, Science, Physical Education, Humanities and Drama & Public Speaking are taught in English, with Cambridge Primary Checkpoint (English, Mathematics, Science) at the end of primary; in middle school Science, Mathematics, English, Global Insights, Earth Science, Music, Drama and Economics are taught in English, with Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint in English, Mathematics and Science. The Cambridge strand is for all pupils; the school names no separate charge for it. In Italian: Italiano, Matematica, Scienze, Storia, Geografia, Arte e Immagine, Musica, Tecnologia, Educazione Motoria. Third language: in primary Spanish, French, Chinese or German, in middle school French or Spanish.
Address Via Francesco Olgiati 14, 20143 Milano

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · Early Years, Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge Primary, Cambridge Lower Secondary. The Italian curriculum runs alongside Cambridge for every pupil: English, maths, science and other subjects are taught in English in primary and middle school, with Checkpoint exams.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Early Years (ages 3-6), Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Early Years is the nursery stage, ages 3 to 6. There are no exams at the end: the stage describes what the youngest children are taught and how, and it follows the Cambridge frame rather than a national nursery programme. Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results INVALSI 2025, middle school: mathematics 238 points against an Italian average of 195 (Lombardy 197), Italian 218 against 193 (197), English reading 258 against 215 (222), listening 273 against 215 (226). INVALSI 2025, primary: mathematics 79.8% against an Italian average of 56.2%, Italian 87.8% against 60.9%, English reading 92% against 69%, listening 97% against 77%. Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint 2025: English 33, mathematics 34, science 34; Cambridge Primary Checkpoint 2025: English (writing) 30, English (reading) 27, mathematics 31, science 27.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: ISP Changemakers · ISP Artists · ISP Chess Masters · ISP Scientists · ISP Virtual Exchange · ISP Cultural Exchange · ISP Filmmakers · ISP Model United Nations · Chess · Language Clubs
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
In summer, primary pupils can attend the English-language Scuola Estiva on campus (workshops, sport, yoga, outings). Through partners the school offers English camps in Trentino, Sardinia (sailing), Piedmont and sports programmes in Milan; middle school pupils can attend a summer school at Claremont School in England.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: Leaders and teachers presented on the website hold Italian teaching degrees (Scienze della Formazione Primaria, Università Cattolica), and English-speaking staff hold British PGCEs, American degrees and an MBA.
The team page names 10 leaders and teachers, including the principal, the heads of early years, middle school and Cambridge programmes and the EAL coordinator. Teachers are native Italian and English speakers.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access control
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
✓Anti-bullying policy
There is a safeguarding policy with designated leads for primary and middle school, ongoing staff training and strict access control to the building; an anti-bullying policy is published. Pupils are taught online safety. The school has a defibrillator and an agreement with a specialist clinic.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
68
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

International School of MonzaMonza · 75.6Istituto di Istruzione Superiore Ettore MajoranaTurin · 75.5Convitto Nazionale «Principe di Napoli»Assisi · 75.5The New School RomeRome · 75.5