← Back to the rankingMissionsgymnasium St. Antonius Bardel

Bad Bentheim, Germany · est. 1923 · Private
Illustration · Bad Bentheim
Missionsgymnasium St. Antonius is a Catholic grammar school in the former Franciscan friary of Bardel near Bad Bentheim, right on the Dutch border. It was founded in 1923 by Brazilian Franciscans as a boarding college preparing priests for Brazil; the Nazis closed it in 1939, it reopened in 1952, has awarded the Abitur since 1961 and has admitted girls and students of all denominations since 1972. Since 2002 it has been run by the Schulstiftung im Bistum Osnabrück, and since 2008 it has called itself the International College of Science and the Arts. It follows the Lower Saxony curriculum from grade 5 to grade 13 and the Abitur, in German; geography from grade 6, history from grade 7 and biology from grade 8 are taught partly in English. Its distinctive feature is voluntary Cambridge International A-Level exams in English alongside the Abitur: the school has been a Cambridge exam centre since 2009, and the first graduates with both qualifications left in 2016. About 700 students attend; lessons run from 7:40 to 13:50 without free periods, and in grades 5-8 the school day includes swimming, clubs, a homework hour and a class hour.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $892 a year
79 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · A-Level · National programme
Languages of instruction
German
Languages taught
English, Latin, Dutch, French
About the fees The school charges Schulgeld according to the operator's table: in the 2026-2027 school year the full rate is 79 EUR per month, from 2027-2028 90 EUR. The fee depends on net family income: from 21 EUR with an income up to 1700 EUR per month to 79 EUR with an income above 3500 EUR; for a second child from 11 to 40 EUR, from the third child from 6 to 20 EUR. In special cases a partial or full fee waiver is possible. A textbook rental fee is collected in small instalments together with the fee. The rate is indexed annually to the consumer price index.
Admissions Main entry is into grade 5 after primary school: parent information evenings in November, an open day called College Day for fourth graders, then an application via the website with copies of the grade 1-3 reports for both semesters. The school does not select by grades alone: it aims for a representative mix - roughly equal numbers of boys and girls, different denominations and religions, and children from all surrounding localities; non-religious children are also admitted. Religion is compulsory for all from grade 5 to grade 13. The second foreign language starts in grade 7: Latin, Dutch or French; if Dutch or French is oversubscribed, places are allocated by lot. Any student can join the A-Level programme: subjects are chosen at the end of grade 9, requiring at least a grade three in history, geography or music, a grade two in mathematics or physics, and at least a good-minus in English.
Stages and year groups Grades 5-13. Grammar school following the Lower Saxony curriculum (G9): grades 5-10 and the upper stage (introductory phase in grade 11, qualification phase in grades 12-13) with the central Abitur exam. From the 2027-2028 school year, in addition to the bilingual class, Nature and Environment and Sport and Health profiles are introduced. Bilingual modules in English: geography from grade 6, history from grade 7, biology from grade 8; there are no bilingual lessons in the upper stage. Cambridge International: the school offers optional preparation for Cambridge International AS and A-Level exams - weekly tutorials in history, geography, music, physics, mathematics and English from grade 10, project days in grade 10, an elective in grade 11 and a seminar course in grade 12; exams are taken in grades 11-13, in October-November or May-June, and German can also be taken; three A-Level passes give entry to most universities worldwide. In addition there are DELF French certificates and a Dutch certificate at level B1+.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · A-Level · authorised programmeIts core is a Lower Saxony Gymnasium leading to the Abitur; Cambridge AS and A Level are optional.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: A-Level (ages 16-18). A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: AG Forschung (research club) · AG Spanisch (Spanish club) · AG Niederländisch (Dutch club) · AG Französisch (French club) · AG Chor (choir) · AG Schulband (school band) · AG Theater (theatre club) · AG Rampenlicht (stage club) · Ballspiele-AG (ball games club) · Schwimm-AG (swimming club)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
In grades 5-8 each class has two equal homeroom teachers. Counselling is provided by a team of teachers with special additional training, a school social worker, a coaching trainer and a school chaplaincy team. Trainee teachers do their placement at the school. When the head changed in 2012 there were 55 teachers; the school does not publish current teacher numbers or qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school writes that it takes particular care to prevent boundary violations, sexual abuse and sexualised violence. Counselling is voluntary and confidential: specially trained teacher counsellors, a school social worker, coaching, school chaplaincy, counsellors from Caritas and a family counselling service; prevention work is carried out. The school takes part in the School without Racism - School with Courage network.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data85 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country